TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,206 Reviews & Articles | 40,132 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: GTA V will have 'just for PC' features, including a video editor

Xigmatek Aquila SFF Chassis Review - Inside the Aquila

Xigmatek Aquila SFF Chassis Review
Xigmatek puts the team to work looking to put the case company in the running for a SFF chassis with style - the result is the Aquila.
| Small Form Factor Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Feb 21, 2014 2:00 pm
TweakTown Rating: 72%Manufacturer: Xigmatek

Inside the Aquila

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6091_13_xigmatek_aquila_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

Inside the bezel we find the wiring is tied to it, and that the filter in the front is not removable, nor will it be easy to wash. On the frame of the case, we see that the bars are screwed to the face. There are screws next to the ODD bay to remove it, and even though there is a 3.5" drive knock-out, there is no access via the bezel.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6091_14_xigmatek_aquila_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

Our first glance inside shows us the layout, so we can get a grasp on things before we move in closer. Also, the hardware and the paperwork can be found in the HDD bays, and the wiring has been tended to, so it won't flop around in transit.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6091_15_xigmatek_aquila_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

Screws on both sides of the upper frame rail remove to allow this single 5.25" bay to be fully removed; it has wiring holes to the sides of it, and the floor also offers key ways that will allow a drive to be locked into it from the bottom or inside.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6091_16_xigmatek_aquila_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

There is a removable section of steel that is part of the Micro-ATX motherboard mounting and also acts as half of the HDD cage with the pair of trays in it. We can see the wiring coming from the bezel, and we also see it would be rather tough and confined to try to mount a 200mm fan in here.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6091_17_xigmatek_aquila_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

That is also why the section of steel is removable. We did lose the drive bays, but we have much better access for mounting a fan, as well as now having room for a pump and reservoir if that is the angle you want to take.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6091_18_xigmatek_aquila_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

Under the motherboard tray there is room for a decent sized PSU, but that may not work out well for wiring. We did end up having to downsize the PSU that sits fan down on the rubber pads to power this build.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6091_19_xigmatek_aquila_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

The motherboard tray to the left offers mounting for Mini-ITX boards, and has a few extra for Micro-ATX, while the two rightmost standoffs are on the removable section. There is a small hole where the socket will be, but it's more for ventilation than any form of access.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6091_20_xigmatek_aquila_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

From the inside we can see that the expansion slots are all secured with the plate above, and one screw to move that plate holds all of the cards in place. We also see the all white 120mm fan that is supplied, and it requires a 3-pin fan header to power it.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6091_21_xigmatek_aquila_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

As we spun the case around to look in from the right side, we found this two-bay, 2.5" hard drive rack. This has tool-free clips that grab onto rubber washers, and the whole cage is removable as well.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6091_22_xigmatek_aquila_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

There is plenty of wiring, and we tucked it under the chassis to get the image of these all black wires. There will be no issues with reach, but taming the wiring to look clean inside may be a bit more of a challenge.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases