TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,251 Reviews & Articles | 40,806 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Sony teases PlayStation 5 could be a cloud-based console

MyDigitalSSD OTG (On The Go) 256GB USB 3.0 External SSD Review

MyDigitalSSD OTG (On The Go) 256GB USB 3.0 External SSD Review
The latest external storage device from MyDigitalSSD puts USB 3.0 saturating performance in a small form factor enclosure. Let's take a look.
| Enclosures/Externals in Storage | Posted: Feb 19, 2014 3:00 pm
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: MyDigitalSSD

TweakTown image content/6/0/6086_99_mydigitalssd_otg_256gb_usb_3_0_external_ssd_review.png

 

Over the past few months, we have looked at quite a few external storage solutions that feature solid state technology. Solutions such as the Angelbird SSD2go and ADATA SE720 offered top-notch performance, but in a larger form factor.

 

With our latest external storage review (the MyDigitalSSD Pocket Vault), we noted that we are gradually seeing external storage solutions shrink, and start to take on USB flash drives from a price/performance perspective.

 

In the lab today, we have yet another external storage solution from MyDigitalSSD, but in the form of the 256GB OTG. Marketing specifications of the OTG have it pushing 465 MB/s read, followed by 450 MB/s write, using UASP technology.

 

To reach peak performance with the OTG, Windows 8 and OS X 10.8+ are recommended, but compatibility does stretch to previous versions of the aforementioned operating systems. Warranty of the OTG is listed at three years.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6086_02_mydigitalssd_otg_256gb_usb_3_0_external_ssd_review.jpg

 

The scope of delivery for the OTG includes the device itself, and a USB 3.0 cable.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6086_03_mydigitalssd_otg_256gb_usb_3_0_external_ssd_review.jpg

 

Internally, the OTG uses a USB 3.0 to mSATA conversion PCB with the latest ASMedia controller on-board. The mSATA SSD features 256GB of NAND from Toshiba. The controller used on the drive is the Phison PS3108-S8.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6086_04_mydigitalssd_otg_256gb_usb_3_0_external_ssd_review.jpg

 

Here, we have the OTG paired next to its sibling drive: the Pocket Vault. The OTG carries a slightly smaller footprint, while being slightly thicker.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6086_10_mydigitalssd_otg_256gb_usb_3_0_external_ssd_review.png

 

In read testing, the OTG did quite well. Here, we see the drive scale with the increase in file size, to a peak of 460 MB/s.

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6086_11_mydigitalssd_otg_256gb_usb_3_0_external_ssd_review.png

 

Write performance of the OTG topped out around 370 MB/s.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6086_12_mydigitalssd_otg_256gb_usb_3_0_external_ssd_review.png

 

In our price to performance charts, the OTG came in second to the ADATA SE720.

 

The OTG from MyDigitalSSD was quite a surprising drive to say the least. The build quality of the small form factor drive was great; the plastics were snapped together and held tight by screws, which did offer a slight challenge when taking images for this review. Overall, the unit feels quite durable, and being NAND based, it carries top-tier shock tolerance; although, it's not crush proof, so I wouldn't try it.

 

Performance of the OTG was great, we were able to reach 460 MB/s read, and 370 MB/s write. Additionally, the performance of the drive, coupled with its MSRP, placed the drive second in our price/performance charts.

 

The MSRP of the MyDigitalSSD OTG in the 256GB capacity is set at $199.99; although, if you look below, you may be able to find it at a lower cost. Warranty of the OTG from MyDigitalSSD is set at three years.

 

 

PRICING: You can find the MyDigitalSSD OTG 256GB External SSD for sale below. The prices listed are valid at the time of writing, but can change at any time. Click the link to see the very latest pricing for the best deal.

 

United States: The MyDigitalSSD OTG 64GB External SSD retails for $69.99 at Amazon, the MyDigitalSSD OTG 128GB External SSD retails for $114.99 at Amazon, and the MyDigitalSSD OTG 256GB External SSD retails for $199.99 at Amazon.

 

 

TweakTown image 6/0/6086_1234_mydigitalssd_otg_256gb_usb_3_0_external_ssd_review.png

TweakTown image content/6/0/6086_100_mydigitalssd_otg_256gb_usb_3_0_external_ssd_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases