TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,916 Reviews & Articles | 38,116 News Posts

Func KB-460 Backlit Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review - Inside the Func KB-460

Func KB-460 Backlit Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review

For those in the market for a silent mechanical keyboard that offers everything a gamer would need, Func has the KB-460 to deliver just that.

| Keyboards in Peripherals | Posted: Jan 9, 2014 3:00 pm
TweakTown Rating: 96%      Manufacturer: Func

Inside the Func KB-460

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5995_33_func_kb_460_backlit_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

When we opened the frame of the KB-460, again I wanted to show off the painted steel plate. Not many keyboards do this sort of thing, and it makes for attractive styling when the keyboard LEDs are off, but it also seems to increase the intensity as the red LEDs glow against the shiny red paint.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5995_34_func_kb_460_backlit_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

The top right corner of the keyboard is where all of the business happens. Not only is this where the USB 2.0 hub is located, but this is also where the USB controller and onboard memory are located as well.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5995_35_func_kb_460_backlit_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

The Freescale Semiconductor's 8-bit MC9S08JM16 chip that runs at 48 MHz, and offers 128KB of profile and Macro storage, is used to offer the microprocessor, and the onboard memory.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5995_36_func_kb_460_backlit_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

In this image, we now have the Genesis Logic's GL850G USB 2.0 hub controller to allow the two port hub to function and communicate with the MCU, to then be sent to the PC.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5995_37_func_kb_460_backlit_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

The back of the PCB does show quite a bit of flux and soldering residue on the smaller connection made on it. The switches and LEDs were pretty clean on average, but I have seen better cleaning before they were put into the frame.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5995_38_func_kb_460_backlit_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Along with about five black permanent marker initials on various places on the PCB, we also see a stack of three or four red arrow stickers. I assume the marker is used by the various members of QC at Func, but I have no idea why they added the stickers.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5995_39_func_kb_460_backlit_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Once we reassembled the KB-460, we went ahead and plugged in the USB connection to a computer. At this point, the board starts off illuminated in the brightest LED setting. There is one step down in LED lighting, an Off setting, as well as a breathing mode where the LEDs are on for a few seconds, dim out to off for a few, then return to lit; rinse and repeat.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases