TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,093 Reviews & Articles | 39,118 News Posts

Strontium Nitro 64GB microSDXC Memory Card Review

Strontium Nitro 64GB microSDXC Memory Card Review
Need additional storage for your Android or Windows Phone? Read on as we look at the Nitro from Strontium.
| Memory Cards in Storage | Posted: Dec 26, 2013 2:00 pm
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: Strontium

TweakTown image content/5/9/5967_99_strontium_nitro_64gb_microsdxc_memory_card_review.png

 

As the need for mobile storage has continues to grow, we have had the opportunity to look at some of the highest performing and highest capacity micro SD cards that have come to market.

 

Today, we have the distinct opportunity to look over and share our thoughts on the Strontium Nitro 64GB microSD. The Nitro is a high performance UHS I memory card catering to the capacity and performance needs of users of Android smartphones and tablets.

 

Additionally, Strontium has also labelled their card with Windows Phone compatibility, which being a Windows Phone user, something I find comforting. Marketing documentation specifies 85 MB/s read with write speeds following UHS I certifications. Warranty is listed as lifetime.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5967_02_strontium_nitro_64gb_microsdxc_memory_card_review.jpg

 

Our sample included the retail accommodations, so here we have a SD to microSD adapter, along with a USB card reader for the microSDXC card.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5967_03_strontium_nitro_64gb_microsdxc_memory_card_review.jpg

 

Looking over the card, we can see the card is branded with Strontium's color scheme. The capacity of the drive is listed to the left with the UHS I class I logo to the right.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5967_04_strontium_nitro_64gb_microsdxc_memory_card_review.jpg

 

The backside of the card shows the pin out of the microSDXC card.

 

To test the capabilities of media cards, we utilize both CrystalDiskMark and DiskBench. The card reader utilized in these test is the SanDisk ImageMate SDDR 289.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5967_09_strontium_nitro_64gb_microsdxc_memory_card_review.png

 

Our first look over the card shows its storage capacity of 58.9GB formatted in the exFAT file system.

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5967_10_strontium_nitro_64gb_microsdxc_memory_card_review.png

 

Looking over our results from CrystalDiskMark, we find the Nitro was capable of 83.2 MB/s read, with write numbers touching 22 MB/s.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5967_11_strontium_nitro_64gb_microsdxc_memory_card_review.png

 

In our first chart, we have our results from DiskBench. Above, you can see the Strontium did meet UHS I specifications, touching at least 10 MB/s in all three write tests. Peak performance was obtained from RAW image files.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5967_12_strontium_nitro_64gb_microsdxc_memory_card_review.png

 

In our price/performance index, we found the Strontium just below the SanDisk microSDXC.

 

Being that this is the first product that I have had the chance to look at from Strontium, it does give off a good first impression. The card carries ample performance for recording HD video and massive capacity to hold all the pictures your heart desires.

 

To be more specific, we found the card capable of 83 MB/s read and 22 MB/s write. While DiskBench results did show the card wasn't the quickest we have seen, it did offer plenty performance for everyday use.

 

Pricing of the 64GB Strontium Nitro microSDXC card is listed at $82.99.

 

TweakTown image 5/9/5967_1234_strontium_nitro_64gb_microsdxc_memory_card_review.png

TweakTown image content/5/9/5967_100_strontium_nitro_64gb_microsdxc_memory_card_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases