TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,666 Reviews & Articles | 36,010 News Posts

Kingston DataTraveler 4000 FIPS Level 2 Encrypted Flash Drive Review

Kingston DataTraveler 4000 FIPS Level 2 Encrypted Flash Drive Review

Need a secure solution for moving your data? Kingston has you covered with the DT4000 pen drive. Check in as Tyler tells us about it.

| USB Drives in Storage | Posted: Dec 23, 2013 2:00 pm
TweakTown Rating: 90%      Manufacturer: Kingston

TweakTown image content/5/9/5962_99_kingston_datatraveler_4000_fips_level_2_encrypted_flash_drive_review.png

 

If you find yourself in a situation where you need to physically transport sensitive data, doing so through a standard flash drive may not be the most secure way to go about it. Thanks to advances in technology, you shouldn't bother hiring your very own armoured truck, but rather look into a secured USB flash drive. You will pay a definite premium for the security features, but it does give you peace of mind your data is safe.

 

Kingston is widely known brand in storage. From solid state drives to flash drives, they manage to keep their entire line-up fresh year after year. Today, we will be looking over the first of three encrypted flash drives we have in house, the DataTraveler 4000. The DT4000 features 256-bit AES hardware encryption and FIPS 140-2 Level 2 certification, along with an optional read only file access mode and tamper proof coating.

 

The DT4000 is compatible with modern Windows operating systems, along with OS X 10.6+ and Linux Kernel 2.6+. Warranty is listed at five years.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5962_02_kingston_datatraveler_4000_fips_level_2_encrypted_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

The DT4000 features a rugged black exterior housing branding and capacity information of the front of the drive.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5962_03_kingston_datatraveler_4000_fips_level_2_encrypted_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

The back of the drive houses the model identification and assembly information.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5962_04_kingston_datatraveler_4000_fips_level_2_encrypted_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

The Kingston DT4000 utilizes a capped design, which allows for the drive to be waterproof up to four feet.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5962_10_kingston_datatraveler_4000_fips_level_2_encrypted_flash_drive_review.png

 

Setting up the DT4000, we first select our preferred language.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5962_11_kingston_datatraveler_4000_fips_level_2_encrypted_flash_drive_review.png

 

After setting up our password, the drive initialized and formatted.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5962_12_kingston_datatraveler_4000_fips_level_2_encrypted_flash_drive_review.png

 

Going back into the settings. Here you can change your password, along with the password hint.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5962_13_kingston_datatraveler_4000_fips_level_2_encrypted_flash_drive_review.png

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

On the contact information tab, you can change owner information and details.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5962_14_kingston_datatraveler_4000_fips_level_2_encrypted_flash_drive_review.png

 

The ability to select from nine language options is available in the software.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5962_20_kingston_datatraveler_4000_fips_level_2_encrypted_flash_drive_review.png

 

The Kingston DT4000 is factory formatted with the FAT32 file system, insuring compatibility between Windows and Macintosh computers. The usable capacity after formatting is 29.6GB.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5962_21_kingston_datatraveler_4000_fips_level_2_encrypted_flash_drive_review.png

 

For a quick performance check, we ran through CDM with the DT4000. Here we have 32 MB/s for sequential read and 11 MB/s for write.

 

The Kingston DT4000 is a great option for those that need a completely secure solution. Featuring FIPS 140-2 Level 2 compliance and 256-bit hardware encryption, the 4000 offers peace of mind when physically moving sensitive data across the campus or across the country. Additionally, we have top notch build quality with a tamper proof coating and waterproof capabilities up to four feet.

 

Performance of the drive met our expectation for the USB 2.0 interface. Here we found 32MB/s read and 11 MB/s write. Though this may seem low for today's standard, the intense amount of security more than makes up for this in my eyes. Though if you are in the market for even more enhanced security features stay tuned as our three part series comes to completion.

 

Pricing for the 32GB Kingston DT4000 is set at $189.99 and can be found at many e-tailers and accordingly Kingston's online store.

 

TweakTown image 5/9/5962_1234_kingston_datatraveler_4000_fips_level_2_encrypted_flash_drive_review.png

TweakTown image content/5/9/5962_100_kingston_datatraveler_4000_fips_level_2_encrypted_flash_drive_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below