TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,673 Reviews & Articles | 36,064 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

Corsair Flash Voyager Slider 64GB USB 3.0 Flash Drive Review

Corsair Flash Voyager Slider 64GB USB 3.0 Flash Drive Review

We take the Flash Voyager Slider into the lab for testing. Read on for our findings. It's definitely worth considering for its price alone.

| USB Drives in Storage | Posted: Nov 28, 2013 2:00 pm
TweakTown Rating: 85%      Manufacturer: Corsair

TweakTown image content/5/8/5890_99_corsair_flash_voyager_slider_64gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

 

In this day and age, flash drives come in many different sizes and shapes. In addition to each drive's form factor, you will also find different methods of protecting the USB port. In this area, we have two types of "sliders" - those that have the USB port slide out of a single piece frame, and those that have the body slide through a retainer.

 

The Flash Voyager Slider uses the latter of the two sliding methods, offering supreme protection for the USB port. In doing my standard research for this review, I found that Corsair has the Slider marketed at 85 MB/s read and 70 MB/s write. Compatibility of the Flash Voyager Slider extends to modern Windows OS's, Mac OS X and Linux. Warranty of the Flash Voyager Slider is listed a very solid five years.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5890_02_corsair_flash_voyager_slider_64gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

The Voyager Slider uses a two piece plastic design. As stated previously, the body of the drive slides through a retainer to reveal the USB 3.0 port. On the top of the drive, we have an included LED for drive activity.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5890_03_corsair_flash_voyager_slider_64gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

The USB 3.0 port is properly colored to denote its capabilities.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5890_04_corsair_flash_voyager_slider_64gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

The Flash Voyager Slider utilizes the Phison PS2251 controller.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5890_05_corsair_flash_voyager_slider_64gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

On the backside of the PCB, we found a single NAND package at 64GB.

 

One of the lesser-known features of running Microsoft's new operating system Windows 8 is the native capability of USB Attached SCSI or UASP. In benchmarking flash drives, we utilize ATTO Disk Benchmark followed by DiskBench and our custom set of real-world data, and is by far the most important comparison when looking for a flash drive for everyday use.

 

Recently we have added our very own Price vs. Performance charts for both read and write performance of each drive, for these charts we take the average sequential performance over five runs and divide it by the price per GB. All pricing information is updated before a new drive is added and is taken from certified channel retailers such as Newegg or Amazon.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5890_20_corsair_flash_voyager_slider_64gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

 

The Corsair Flash Voyager Slider is factory formatted with the FAT32 file system, insuring compatibility between Windows and Macintosh computers. The usable capacity after formatting is 57.6GB.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5890_21_corsair_flash_voyager_slider_64gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

ATTO results were promising for the Voyager Slider. Here we see the drive peak at a rate of 151 MB/s read and 22 MB/s write.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5890_22_corsair_flash_voyager_slider_64gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

 

DiskBench had the Slider capable of 19 MB/s writing our 4GB ISO file, 25 MB/s on the AVCHD files and 21 MB/s moving RAW images.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5890_23_corsair_flash_voyager_slider_64gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

 

Where the Flash Voyager Slider excelled was price/performance. Here we find the drive near the top of our charts, thanks to its extremely affordable price and decent sequential performance.

 

The Corsair Flash Voyager Slider is a durable compact flash drive that offers ample performance when reading from the drive, but lacks slightly in the write department. As far as durability is concerned, the sliding form factor offers plenty in this regard, but does take a little more effort when attempting to use it one-handed.

 

Performance of the drive was acceptable in sequential read, where we found it capable of 150 MB/s. Write results however, weren't too friendly to the Slider, topping out at 22 MB/s.

 

Pricing at this time for the 64GB capacity is set at $44.99. At this price, it certainly makes the Slider a tempting purchase and one of the best when it comes to price/performance.

 

TweakTown image 5/8/5890_1234_corsair_flash_voyager_slider_64gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

TweakTown image content/5/8/5890_100_corsair_flash_voyager_slider_64gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below