TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,137 Reviews & Articles | 39,431 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Corsair Flash Voyager Mini 64GB USB 3.0 Flash Drive Review

Corsair Flash Voyager Mini 64GB USB 3.0 Flash Drive Review
We put the new Corsair Voyager Mini USB 3.0 flash drive through testing to see how it performs, and if you should buy it or not.
| USB Drives in Storage | Posted: Nov 27, 2013 3:03 am
TweakTown Rating: 85%Manufacturer: Corsair

TweakTown image content/5/8/5888_99_corsair_flash_voyager_mini_64gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

 

Flash drives offer us a solution to transfer files to take with us on the go. For the most part, these devices have always had one downfall, especially if you're working on a notebook - and that's size. With notebooks and tablet PCs shrinking each generation, there comes a time when the storage we use with these devices has to shrink down to size as well.

 

Recently, Corsair announced the availability of a complete range of new flash drives. The Mini, as the name states, is a small form factor USB 3.0 flash drive. Capacities range from 16GB and 32GB models, all the way up to an impressive 64GB model. Compatibility includes Windows, Macintosh and Linux operating system. The Flash Voyager Mini carries a very solid five year warranty.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5888_02_corsair_flash_voyager_mini_64gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

The Corsair Mini carries a sleek dark brushed metal surface, with logos adorning the sides of the drive. At the top, the key ring is secured straight to the body of the drive.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5888_03_corsair_flash_voyager_mini_64gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

Of course, the USB 3.0 port is properly colored to denote its capabilities.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5888_04_corsair_flash_voyager_mini_64gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

Here we have put the Voyager Mini pictured up against a few other pico drives we have tested previously.

 

One of the lesser-known features of running Microsoft's new operating system Windows 8 is the native capability of USB Attached SCSI or UASP. In benchmarking flash drives, we utilize ATTO Disk Benchmark followed by DiskBench and our custom set of real-world data, and is by far the most important comparison when looking for a flash drive for everyday use.

 

Recently we have added our very own Price vs. Performance charts for both read and write performance of each drive, for these charts we take the average sequential performance over five runs and divide it by the price per GB. All pricing information is updated before a new drive is added and is taken from certified channel retailers such as Newegg or Amazon.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5888_20_corsair_flash_voyager_mini_64gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

 

The Corsair Flash Voyager Mini is factory formatted with the FAT32 file system, insuring compatibility between Windows and Macintosh computers. The usable capacity after formatting is 57.6GB.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5888_21_corsair_flash_voyager_mini_64gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

ATTO results were promising for the Voyager Mini. Here we see the drive peak at a rate of 79 MB/s read and 20MB/s write.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5888_22_corsair_flash_voyager_mini_64gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

 

DiskBench testing threw a slight curve at the Mini, where we find the drive towards the bottom of our chart. Though, it is slightly faster than the Super Talent Pico.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5888_23_corsair_flash_voyager_mini_64gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

 

Moving over to price/performance, the Voyager Mini landed itself right behind the PQI i-Mont and ahead of the Super Talent Pico.

 

While the Corsair Flash Voyager Mini certainly isn't a burner when it comes to performance, it does offer tremendous capacity in a very small form factor. An added bonus to this is the over durability of the unit, being a single piece design.

 

Touching on the drives performance, where it does offer decent read speeds of 70 MB/s. Unfortunately, most of the work with flash drives is done by writing groups of files to them and that's where we only managed 20 MB/s.

 

Pricing at this time for the 64GB capacity model is set at $54.99.

 

TweakTown image 5/8/5888_1234_corsair_flash_voyager_mini_64gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

TweakTown image content/5/8/5888_100_corsair_flash_voyager_mini_64gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases