TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,917 Reviews & Articles | 38,127 News Posts

Transcend Ultimate 64GB SDXC Memory Card Review

Transcend Ultimate 64GB SDXC Memory Card Review

The Transcend Ultimate 64GB SDXC offers one of the best price to performance ratios to date, but is that enough in today's market?

| Memory Cards in Storage | Posted: Sep 20, 2013 2:01 pm
TweakTown Rating: 85%      Manufacturer: Transcend

TweakTown image content/5/7/5754_99_transcend_ultimate_64gb_sdxc_memory_card_review.png

 

As HD video recording becomes increasingly popular, the need for high density storage follows. For this reason, we have seen many manufacturers start to increase the capacity of their SD and Compact Flash cards to accommodate this demand. One of these companies is Transcend, which has sent over one of its latest top tier offerings in the Ultimate line-up.

 

Today I will be going over the 64GB Ultimate SDXC memory card from Transcend. This card carries both a Class 10 and UHS-I speed rating, with marketing specifications of 90 MB/s read. Additionally, as with all Transcend memory products, you will find yourself with a free copy of RecoveRX, along with the SDXC card backed by a lifetime warranty.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5754_02_transcend_ultimate_64gb_sdxc_memory_card_review.jpg

 

The Transcend Ultimate was delivered to us in its retail form, which you can see in its entirety above the review text. Here we found the card inside plastic packaging.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5754_03_transcend_ultimate_64gb_sdxc_memory_card_review.jpg

 

Looking at the card, we first notice the capacity at 64GB printed on the card in bold font. Above this, we find the Class 10 and UHS I logos, and of course the SDXC and 600x as well.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5754_04_transcend_ultimate_64gb_sdxc_memory_card_review.jpg

 

The bottom or back of the card shows the nine pin connection, which is standard for the SD format.

 

To test SD cards we utilize the same benchmarks we use for Flash Drives. These include CrystalDiskMark, ATTO and DiskBench. The card reader utilized in these test is the SanDisk ImageMate AIO. We have also included Price/Performance to aide in your purchase decision. All prices are updated for each review and come from reputable retailers listed on the manufacturers "Where to Buy" list.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5754_20_transcend_ultimate_64gb_sdxc_memory_card_review.png

 

Our first look over the card shows its storage capacity of 59.8GB formatted in the exFAT file system.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5754_21_transcend_ultimate_64gb_sdxc_memory_card_review.png

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

In ATTO, the Transcend was able to exceed marketing specifications coming in at 96 MB/s read and 63 MB/s write.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5754_22_transcend_ultimate_64gb_sdxc_memory_card_review.png

 

Following up our ATTO testing, we move on to CDM, where we find similar results from the Ultimate SDXC. Here we find sequential result at 95 MB/s read and 64 MB/s write, while large block random reads come in at 89 MB/s and writes at 22 MB/s.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5754_23_transcend_ultimate_64gb_sdxc_memory_card_review.png

 

In our chart above, we find the Transcend did quite well with both AVCHD and RAW formats at 58 MB/s and 56 MB/s respectively. This effectively puts the Transcend Ultimate right with the 64GB microSDXC from SanDisk.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5754_24_transcend_ultimate_64gb_sdxc_memory_card_review.png

 

Offering ample performance is one way to get the average consumer to purchase your products, the other is pricing it competitively. Here you will find the Transcend Ultimate at the top of the list by quite a margin, thanks to the card's performance and excellent pricing at 0.78 cents per GB.

 

The Transcend Ultimate 64GB SDXC is a testament to the right mix of performance, capacity and market research. With this, Transcend has come out of the gates offering Full HD capable storage at a price point that makes this 64GB SDXC the fastest memory card on the market at this capacity and price point.

 

Performance of the Ultimate SDXC was quite compelling. For instance, in both ATTO and CDM, we reached 95 MB/s read, followed by 65 MB/s write, while DiskBench had the card on par with comparable products like the 64GB SanDisk Extreme Pro.

 

At the time of writing, the Transcend Ultimate 64GB SDXC is priced at $59.99 and backed by a lifetime warranty. Comparable products make this SDXC from Transcend a real treat coming in at half the price ($59.99) of the much more expensive SanDisk Extreme Pro 64GB SDXC ($129.99), and that makes it one to put on the short list.

 

TweakTown image 5/7/5754_1234_transcend_ultimate_64gb_sdxc_memory_card_review.png

TweakTown image content/5/7/5754_100_transcend_ultimate_64gb_sdxc_memory_card_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases