TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,933 Reviews & Articles | 38,224 News Posts

WD Red 4TB NAS HDD Enterprise Review - 4K Random Read/Write

WD Red 4TB NAS HDD Enterprise Review

The latest generation of WD Red NAS HDDs offer an increase to 4TB in the 3.5-inch form factor with features tailored specifically for NAS users.

| HDDs in IT/Datacenter | Posted: Sep 7, 2013 2:03 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%      Manufacturer: WD

4K Random Read/Write

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5728_11_wd_red_4tb_nas_hdd_enterprise_review.png

 

Each QD for every parameter tested includes 300 data points (five minutes of one second reports) to illustrate the degree of performance variability. The line for each QD represents the average speed reported during the five-minute interval.

 

4K random speed measurements are an important metric when comparing drive performance, as the hardest type of file access for any storage solution to master is small-file random. One of the most sought-after performance specifications, 4K random performance is a heavily marketed figure.

 

The WD Red falls into a predictable spot behind the faster Se and Re drives. The Red averages 147 IOPS in the 4K random write test.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5728_12_wd_red_4tb_nas_hdd_enterprise_review.png

 

The Red scores closely with the faster drives, and averages 136 IOPS at QD256.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5728_13_wd_red_4tb_nas_hdd_enterprise_review.png

 

Our write percentage testing illustrates the varying performance of each solution with mixed workloads. The 100% column to the right is a pure write workload of the 4K file size, and 0% represents a pure 4K read workload.

 

The WD Red provides solid performance as we mix in heavier write workloads, closely matching the Se until we reach the pure write workload.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5728_14_wd_red_4tb_nas_hdd_enterprise_review.png

 

The Red delivers 79.1% of I/O's in the 200-400ms range, and 20.8% at 100-200ms.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5728_15_wd_red_4tb_nas_hdd_enterprise_review.png

 

We record the power consumption measurements during our test run at QD256.

 

The Red averages 5.48 Watts during the measurement window, significantly lower than the faster drives.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5728_16_wd_red_4tb_nas_hdd_enterprise_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5728_17_wd_red_4tb_nas_hdd_enterprise_review.png

 

IOPS to Watts measurements are generated from data recorded during our test. The Red delivers an average of 26.4 IOPS per Watt for 4K random writes, and 22 IOPS per Watt for 4K random read access. It remains remarkably close in IOPS to Watts in comparison to the faster HDDs.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases