TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,919 Reviews & Articles | 38,135 News Posts

Kingston MobileLite Wireless Storage Device Review

Kingston MobileLite Wireless Storage Device Review

Kingston's latest mobile device doubles as card reader and charger for your smartphone or tablet. We take a look at how it performs in our lab.

| Enclosures/Externals in Storage | Posted: Aug 22, 2013 10:02 pm
TweakTown Rating: 90%      Manufacturer: Kingston

TweakTown image content/5/6/5690_99_kingston_mobilelite_wireless_storage_device_review.png

 

Running off the success of the Wi-Drive, Kingston being a global leader in memory technology has taken things a bit further with it latest incarnation. The MobileLite Wireless is designed to allow for expandable SD or USB storage giving you unlimited access to your data on the go. Additionally, Kingston has added a few features to the device that could set it apart from everything else on the market.

 

From my opening statement, we know that the Kingston MobileLite Wireless is a storage device aimed at mobile users. Adding to this we can also confirm that Kingston has added an emergency charging function to the MobileLite, allowing you to charge your smartphone when you're in a pinch. Even more, the device has the ability to stream content wirelessly to three users simultaneously after downloading the app available on the Apple App Store or Google Play stores. Kingston warranties the MobileLite for a period of one year.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5690_02_kingston_mobilelite_wireless_storage_device_review.jpg

 

Included in the package, you will find the start-up guide, along with the USB charging cable. Additionally, Kingston includes a SD to microSD adapter.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5690_03_kingston_mobilelite_wireless_storage_device_review.jpg

 

On the front of the device you will find the USB port and micro USB port.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5690_04_kingston_mobilelite_wireless_storage_device_review.jpg

 

The side of the device houses the power button and above three LEDs for device activity.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5690_05_kingston_mobilelite_wireless_storage_device_review.jpg

 

On the other end we found the SD card port.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5690_06_kingston_mobilelite_wireless_storage_device_review.png

 

After installing the app from the Google Play store and connecting to the wireless of the MobileLite, we were greeted with the landing menu. Here you have the option of exploring the MobileLite's contents or local storage on your phone or tablet.

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5690_08_kingston_mobilelite_wireless_storage_device_review.png

 

Exploring the contents of our tablet, we found that Kingston has given a few options for moving data. Included in this is the ability to post to Facebook and Twitter, along with emailing and straight copying to the MobileLite.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5690_09_kingston_mobilelite_wireless_storage_device_review.png

 

In the settings menu, we were able to find a few options for setting security on the device.

 

There is no doubt in my mind at least that the Kingston MobileLite is a truly unique device. In fact, the only direct comparable I could think of was the ADATA AE400 that we reviewed a few months back. Typically, success of devices such as the MobileLite depend on the build quality and of course the Android or iOS application. Here I did find a minor flaw in the app on Android at least, more specifically the ability to move multiple files to the MobileLite at once was absent, leaving me to transfer a set of 20 photos one by one.

 

As far as the build quality is concerned, Kingston excelled in this area. The USB and SD card slots allowed for easy connection of storage, and the power button was quick to respond. Charging the device for the first time took close to three hours, from which the device is still running from at this point.

 

At the time of writing, the MobileLite Wireless is available from a few online retailers for $59.99.

 

TweakTown image 5/6/5690_1234_kingston_mobilelite_wireless_storage_device_review.png

TweakTown image content/5/6/5690_100_kingston_mobilelite_wireless_storage_device_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases