TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,076 Reviews & Articles | 39,025 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: GTA V will offer first-person mode on foot, and in vehicles on PC

Corsair Carbide Series Air 540 High Airflow ATX Cube Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

Corsair Carbide Series Air 540 High Airflow ATX Cube Chassis Review
A very revolutionary chassis hits the labs for testing as Corsair's Carbide series gets a beast of a chassis with the new Air 540.
| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Jul 10, 2013 9:03 pm
TweakTown Rating: 91%Manufacturer: Corsair

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5588_29_corsair_carbide_series_air_540_high_airflow_atx_cube_chassis_review.jpg

 

Now you can peel all of the external plastic components, but I thought just removing the mesh panels from the front and the top of the chassis were sufficient to give you an overall sense of the cooling potential in the Air 540.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5588_30_corsair_carbide_series_air_540_high_airflow_atx_cube_chassis_review.jpg

 

If you want to remove the ODD bays, you do have to pull the front plastic on the right side. This gives you access to the thumb screws. I slid the DVD drive in already, but found when I went to replace the plastic bezel that the drive has to go in after the bezel.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5588_31_corsair_carbide_series_air_540_high_airflow_atx_cube_chassis_review.jpg

 

Now that we have the build finished, we can start the tour again. The front of the chassis looks much the same as it did when we started. The DVD drive can go in either way, but installed as it is, I have access to the drive tray as well as a view of the window from the same side of the chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5588_32_corsair_carbide_series_air_540_high_airflow_atx_cube_chassis_review.jpg

 

With an ATX motherboard inside of the Air 540, you can see the chassis offers plenty of room for a couple of radiators and their fans at the top and in the front of the chassis. I also like that the way this is designed, you really don't see much of anything besides the major components, and everything else is behind closed doors, if you will.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5588_33_corsair_carbide_series_air_540_high_airflow_atx_cube_chassis_review.jpg

 

There is one major downfall with the wiring coming from the front I/O panel, and that is in the USB 3.0 cable. I took the most direct route to my port at the bottom of my motherboard, and as you can see, there is not enough cable to bend the connection and plug it in.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5588_34_corsair_carbide_series_air_540_high_airflow_atx_cube_chassis_review.jpg

 

The rear of the chassis fills out nicely as the PSU fills the large hole on the left, the rear I/O dust shield pops in, and the video card screwed in, all without incident.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5588_35_corsair_carbide_series_air_540_high_airflow_atx_cube_chassis_review.jpg

 

Now I did remove the 2.5" drive rack, but there still is plenty of room for it, I just thought I would show some of the potential to change things up. The wiring is mostly contained to the left side; I do advise a modular PSU with short cables, and keep in mind about the fans needing adapters or a fan controller.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5588_36_corsair_carbide_series_air_540_high_airflow_atx_cube_chassis_review.jpg

 

All back together now, and I will say this, the view from every angle is pleasing to the eyes, and the view through the window is superb without all the clutter that screws up many chassis designs. I almost feel as if this is a test bench on its side, or maybe a cool LAN box, but there are no handles for that.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5588_37_corsair_carbide_series_air_540_high_airflow_atx_cube_chassis_review.jpg

 

Once the system was powered up, there is only the slight glow of the white LED in the power button to deal with, and the occasional flicker of the HDD activity light, but nothing eye piercing. I was also quite surprised to hear very little noise coming out of this chassis, especially since most of the chassis is open right to the air and easy to transfer noise through.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases