TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,677 Reviews & Articles | 36,078 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

ioSafe Solo G3 Fireproof and Waterproof External Hard Drive Review - ioSafe Solo G3

Disaster recovery is for the unprepared and it's very expensive. Disaster prevention on the other hand shows that you're responsible and costs much less.

| Enclosures/Externals in Storage | Posted: Dec 4, 2012 10:20 am
TweakTown Rating: 95%      Manufacturer: ioSafe

ioSafe Solo G3

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5084_05_iosafe_solo_g3_fireproof_and_waterproof_external_hard_drive_review.jpg

 

From the factory the ioSafe Solo G3 ships with a lot of protection. Here we see at least three inches of foam around the actual unit. The Solo G3 weighs around 15 pounds so it needs quite a bit of support.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5084_06_iosafe_solo_g3_fireproof_and_waterproof_external_hard_drive_review.jpg

 

The new fanless design has more openings that allow any hard drive generated heat to radiate out of the enclosure.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5084_07_iosafe_solo_g3_fireproof_and_waterproof_external_hard_drive_review.jpg

 

ioSafe claims a 15 pound weight, but it feels like more. The enclosure feels like something you would fire from a tank. It's built like something you could fire from a tank as well. You don't really have to worry about the unit surviving from a fall; I don't think a 3 foot fall would even dent it.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5084_08_iosafe_solo_g3_fireproof_and_waterproof_external_hard_drive_review.jpg

 

This is the first ioSafe product to come with less than perfect anything. Since I paint my track motorcycles I'm a bit of a paint buff. Here we see the paintwork could have been a little better, but we are knit picking at this point. To be honest, ioSafe usually sends us products that are so perfect we have to find something, anything to point at and say they could do better. When you get down to a minor blemish on the paint that can't be seen from two feet away, you're looking pretty hard.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5084_09_iosafe_solo_g3_fireproof_and_waterproof_external_hard_drive_review.jpg

 

The Solo G3 uses USB 3.0, but the protocol is backwards compatible with USB 2.0 as well.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5084_10_iosafe_solo_g3_fireproof_and_waterproof_external_hard_drive_review.jpg

 

Hard plastic feet on the bottom elevate the enclosure off the surface. The hole on the bottom back side of the base can be used to anchor the unit.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5084_11_iosafe_solo_g3_fireproof_and_waterproof_external_hard_drive_review.png

 

ioSafe includes a USB 3.0 cable, power brick, Quick Install Guide and a card that reminds you to activate the product by serial number on the ioSafe website.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below