TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,078 Reviews & Articles | 39,033 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: GTA V will offer first-person mode on foot, and in vehicles on PC

ASRock Z77 Pro3 (Intel Z77) Motherboard Review - ASRock Z77 Pro3 Motherboard

We check out the ASRock Z77 Pro3, a board that carries a price tag that sits under $100.

| Socket LGA 1155 in Motherboards | Posted: Jul 30, 2012 4:55 pm
TweakTown Rating: 88%Manufacturer: ASRock

ASRock Z77 Pro3 Motherboard

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4852_06_asrock_z77_pro3_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Moving onto the board you can see straight away it's probably not going to be winning any beauty contests. We've got that very typical brown PCB that we see on cheaper options and black connectors throughout the motherboard. Let's move in a little closer, though, and see just exactly what we're dealing with here.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4852_07_asrock_z77_pro3_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Moving closer to the connectivity side of things you can see we've got two Legacy PCI slots, a single PCIe x1 and two PCIe x16 slots with the second one running only at PCIe 4x making it probably not the best option if you're looking at going down the SLI / CrossFire path.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4852_08_asrock_z77_pro3_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Moving to the bottom of the board you can see we lose any color coding to no doubt keep costs down and starting from the left we've got a HD Audio header followed by a COM 1, two USB 2.0 headers, fan header, our main front panel header and on the right a separate header for your computer speaker.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4852_09_asrock_z77_pro3_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Turning the corner you can see we've got four SATA connectors. These are all SATA II; fortunately we've got a couple of extra SATA connectors a little further up which we'll look at just below.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4852_10_asrock_z77_pro3_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Heading up north we can see on the far right we've got two grey SATA ports which are fortunately SATA III. Next to that you can see the USB 3.0 header, main 24-pin ATX power connector and a fan header. On the RAM side of things you can see we've got four slots present supporting up to 32GB of DDR3 ranging from 1066MHz DDR to 2800MHz DDR via overclocking.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4852_11_asrock_z77_pro3_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4852_12_asrock_z77_pro3_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Across the top of the board you can see the main 8-pin CPU connector and a pair of fan headers while moving back a bit we get a better look at the CPU area which is pretty clean like most these days. We've got a heatsink that sits towards the top and we lack the fancy gold capacitors of the higher end ASRock options, but everything looks fairly clean and standard.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4852_13_asrock_z77_pro3_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Moving to the I/O department we can see we start with two USB connectors along with a PS2 connector. Moving across we've got a VGA and HDMI port followed up with two USB 3.0 connectors, two more USB 2.0 connectors, Gigabit networking via the Realtek RTL8111E controller and six auxiliary ports that run off the Realtek ALC892 codec.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases