TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,936 Reviews & Articles | 38,245 News Posts

Sapphire PURE Black X79N (Intel X79) Motherboard Review - BIOS

Sapphire expands their motherboard line up with the new PURE Black X79N. We find out if it is a hit or miss product.

| Socket LGA 2011 in Motherboards | Posted: Feb 1, 2012 12:25 pm
TweakTown Rating: 84%      Manufacturer: Sapphire

BIOS

 

Hitting the delete button to get into the BIOS for the first time I had my eyes closed as I was prepared to be greeted with a horrible UEFI BIOS from a company that hadn't done anything in this area yet. Inside and eyes wide open, though, I really found myself pleasantly surprised to see what Sapphire had done with the American Megatrends BIOS.

 

From the moment you entered it looked good and across the bottom of each page we have some of our main system information being displayed like frequencies, voltages and temperatures.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4537_15_sapphire_pure_black_x79n_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4537_16_sapphire_pure_black_x79n_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4537_17_sapphire_pure_black_x79n_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4537_18_sapphire_pure_black_x79n_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4537_19_sapphire_pure_black_x79n_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

If you're in the BIOS the chances are the main area you want to be in is the performance section and the setup is actually really basic and easy to navigate. While basic, though, the options are pretty strong and you can see we've got a good line up of voltage and RAM options.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4537_20_sapphire_pure_black_x79n_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4537_21_sapphire_pure_black_x79n_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4537_22_sapphire_pure_black_x79n_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4537_23_sapphire_pure_black_x79n_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4537_24_sapphire_pure_black_x79n_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

As for the rest of the BIOS there's no real surprise as you've got your normal line up of options that let you disable features, setup boot options and gives you the ability to save the current settings as the user defaults. Moving throughout the BIOS, though, it looks good and the fact that it's just really easy to navigate is exactly what you want in a BIOS.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases