TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,140 Reviews & Articles | 39,467 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Sapphire PURE Black X79N (Intel X79) Motherboard Review - BIOS

Sapphire expands their motherboard line up with the new PURE Black X79N. We find out if it is a hit or miss product.

| Socket LGA 2011 in Motherboards | Posted: Feb 1, 2012 12:25 pm
TweakTown Rating: 84%Manufacturer: Sapphire

BIOS

 

Hitting the delete button to get into the BIOS for the first time I had my eyes closed as I was prepared to be greeted with a horrible UEFI BIOS from a company that hadn't done anything in this area yet. Inside and eyes wide open, though, I really found myself pleasantly surprised to see what Sapphire had done with the American Megatrends BIOS.

 

From the moment you entered it looked good and across the bottom of each page we have some of our main system information being displayed like frequencies, voltages and temperatures.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4537_15_sapphire_pure_black_x79n_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4537_16_sapphire_pure_black_x79n_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4537_17_sapphire_pure_black_x79n_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4537_18_sapphire_pure_black_x79n_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4537_19_sapphire_pure_black_x79n_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

If you're in the BIOS the chances are the main area you want to be in is the performance section and the setup is actually really basic and easy to navigate. While basic, though, the options are pretty strong and you can see we've got a good line up of voltage and RAM options.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4537_20_sapphire_pure_black_x79n_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4537_21_sapphire_pure_black_x79n_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4537_22_sapphire_pure_black_x79n_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4537_23_sapphire_pure_black_x79n_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4537_24_sapphire_pure_black_x79n_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

As for the rest of the BIOS there's no real surprise as you've got your normal line up of options that let you disable features, setup boot options and gives you the ability to save the current settings as the user defaults. Moving throughout the BIOS, though, it looks good and the fact that it's just really easy to navigate is exactly what you want in a BIOS.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases