TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,200 Reviews & Articles | 40,015 News Posts

XFX ProSeries 1250W Power Supply Review - Inside the Box

XFX adds more power to their ProSeries line of PSU's. After checking out the 1000W model recently, we now turn our attention to the higher powered 1250W model.

| Other PSUs in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Dec 21, 2011 12:49 pm
TweakTown Rating: 91%Manufacturer: XFXForce

Inside the Box

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4489_11_xfx_proseries_1250w_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Inside the box we find the user manual and box of modular cables sitting on top of the power supply.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4489_12_xfx_proseries_1250w_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Once we remove that stuff, we find the power supply nestled in some foam and wrapped in bubble wrap. The cables you see there are for the PCI-E connections.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4489_13_xfx_proseries_1250w_power_supply_review.jpg

 

On top of the unit we find the I/O specification label and serial number.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4489_14_xfx_proseries_1250w_power_supply_review.jpg

 

On the side we can see that there is some extra venting and that the standard style case isn't used. It is identical to that of the 1000W version.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4489_15_xfx_proseries_1250w_power_supply_review.jpg

 

The other side is the same with the exception of the label being inverted so that it can be installed in both the top and bottom of the case.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4489_16_xfx_proseries_1250w_power_supply_review.jpg

 

On the back we find the same square mesh grill for venting the hot air that we saw with the 1000W unit. Also located back here are the AC input and on/off rocker switch.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4489_17_xfx_proseries_1250w_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Checking the front, we can see all of the modular connections for the power supply. Also note that there is a switch to control the fan. This allows you to decide if you want to have the fan run all of the time or just let it be temperature controlled.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4489_18_xfx_proseries_1250w_power_supply_review.jpg

 

XFX uses quite a different design for the fan grill. While this may not be optimum for airflow, it does add some flair that we don't normally see in a power supply.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4489_19_xfx_proseries_1250w_power_supply_review.jpg

 

All of the cables are modular and the only difference between the 1250W and 1000W models is the extra PCI-E cable.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4489_20_xfx_proseries_1250w_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Also included are the AC input cable, black thumb screws to mount the unit and the user manual.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases