TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,076 Reviews & Articles | 39,025 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: GTA V will offer first-person mode on foot, and in vehicles on PC

G-Technology G-DRIVE slim HDD Review

Hitachi's MAC inspired G-Technology brand has a pair of new external drives on the market. We've already looked at the Mobile and now it's time to check out the slim.

| HDDs in Storage | Posted: Dec 14, 2011 1:26 am
TweakTown Rating: 82%Manufacturer: G-Technology

TweakTown image content/4/4/4473_01_g_technology_g_drive_slim_hdd_review.jpg

 

If you haven't heard of G-Technology just yet, you are not alone. The company started out as its own entity, but was later scooped up by Hitachi Global Storage Technology (GST). Now G-Tech serves at Hitachi's MAC storage department making products designed for use with MAC computers with an emphasis put on style as well as performance. Just very recently we looked at the G-DRIVE Mobile, a dual interface drive that uses USB 2.0 and FireWire 800.

 

Today we're looking at the G-DRIVE slim, a very thin portable drive that connects to your PC or MAC via USB 2.0. The slim uses a 7mm thin 5,400 RPM drive that allows the slim to be, well, very thin. Online we found two capacity sizes, 320GB and a larger 500GB model. Today we're looking at the 500GB model.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4473_02_g_technology_g_drive_slim_hdd_review.png

 

G-Technology doesn't give us a lot of information on their specifications sheet. The drive is formatted for a MAC file system out of the box, but PC users can easily format the drive for NTFS with just a few clicks.

 

With just a single USB 2.0 interface you will be limited to around 35MB/s read and write speed, the maximum real world limits of USB 2.0. The G-DRIVE slim does include a USB cable and is powered by the USB bus, so you don't need to worry about an external power pack.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4473_06_g_technology_g_drive_slim_hdd_review.jpg

 

When it comes to cost, we managed to find the G-Technology G-DRIVE slim 500GB online for around 100 Dollars after shipping.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4473_03_g_technology_g_drive_slim_hdd_review.jpg

 

G-Technology named the slim appropriately. The drive is very small for an external drive thanks to the 7mm drive inside. For the most part the enclosure is aluminium, but there is a plastic strip on the outside edges that keep the drive together.

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4473_04_g_technology_g_drive_slim_hdd_review.png

 

The ATTO performance graph looks a bit different this time around. The G-DRIVE slim uses an Advanced Format 4K file system and ATTO doesn't like testing these drives below the 4K block size.

 

As you can see in this test, the slim manages to achieve just under 35MB/s when reading data and just over 30MB/s write speed.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4473_05_g_technology_g_drive_slim_hdd_review.png

 

Advanced Format is not supported by AS SSD, so we were not able to run the File Transfer test on the slim. We were able to run CDM which shows us 4K and native command queuing (NCQ) performance. The problem is that NCQ isn't a supported protocol on USB. Still, we managed to record some solid performance for a 7mm single platter drive. The 512k block size tested at 24MB/s write and 22MB/s read speeds.

 

7mm drives aren't built for extreme speed, but with the USB 2.0 limits in place with the G-DRIVE slim, speed isn't the top priority. G-Technology set out to build a product that was built for form over function. The company succeeded in their goal as the G-DRIVE slim is very cool looking. Still, users who purchase this product may end up with some buyer's remorse when they get to transferring data to and from the drive. 35MB/s is the absolute best you can do and in 2011 that just isn't fast enough with USB 3.0 and FireWire 800 (on the MAC side).

 

TweakTown image 4/4/4473_1234_g_technology_g_drive_slim_hdd_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases