TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,674 Reviews & Articles | 36,067 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

G-Technology G-DRIVE Mobile HDD Review

Hitachi's MAC inspired G-Technology brand has some new USB 2.0 and FireWire 800 products on the market. Today Chris looks at the G-DRIVE Mobile.

| HDDs in Storage | Posted: Dec 9, 2011 3:28 am
TweakTown Rating: 85%      Manufacturer: G-Tech

TweakTown image content/4/4/4466_01_g_technology_g_drive_mobile_hdd_review.png

 

Hitachi is making a big push with their G-Technology brand of portable storage drives. Just a few weeks ago I was at a San Jose Sharks hockey game and during one of the breaks a commercial aired on the display above the rink. The G-DRIVE Mobile was the focus of the commercial. I thought it was kind of cool to see a storage product featured so prominently to mainstream users.

 

In a sense you can think of G-Technology as Hitachi's MAC wing. Most of their products feature FireWire 800 interfaces, are designed to look MAC sheik and many are capable of handling the stress of heavy A/V editing.

 

The G-DRIVE Mobile falls into the first two categories. With its piano black cover and silver aluminium casing for protection, the Mobile will look right at home next to your MAC or new Ultrabook.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4466_02_g_technology_g_drive_mobile_hdd_review.png

 

The G-DRIVE Mobile is available in 500GB and 750GB. We're looking at the 500GB drive today. Your data is stored on a 2.5" form factor 5,400 RPM Hitachi SATA drive with 8MB of cache. Keeping with the MAC theme, there are dual FireWire 800 connections and a single USB 2.0 port. The G-DRIVE Mobile ships with three cables, so no slot will go unfilled.

 

In the specifications sheet G-Technology lists the dimensions of the external drive. The unit is about the same size as a standard 3.5" form factor drive, but weighs quite a bit less. Most of the bulk is due to the tri-interface, the electronics aren't exactly tiny since there isn't a dual purpose FireWire (1394b) / USB 2.0 chip. The unit has to double up on some surface mount components.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4466_03_g_technology_g_drive_mobile_hdd_review.jpg

 

We're not really MAC enthusiasts here at TweakTown, so FireWire 800 is seen as an old interface that only made a brief appearance in our world, like on Socket 775 motherboards. That said, we're only testing the G-Technology Mobile with USB 2.0 which has a real world performance limit of around 35MB/s. If you were someone with a FireWire 800 port on your machine, the Mobile would be able to run at the full speed of the HDD. We suspect that is between 100MB/s at peak and around 50MB/s at the slow end of the platters.

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4466_04_g_technology_g_drive_mobile_hdd_review.png

 

Using ATTO, we managed to get very close to the 35MB/s limit when reading from the G-Technology G-DRIVE Mobile. The write speed broke 30MB/s using USB 2.0, but the interface limited us there.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4466_05_g_technology_g_drive_mobile_hdd_review.png

 

In our real world tests where data is copied to and from a partition on the drive, we managed to get just under 15MB/s in all of the tests. This is solid performance for a USB 2.0 interface and in line with some of the high speed thumb drives we've tested.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4466_150_g_technology_g_drive_mobile_hdd_review.jpg

 

K-Mart of all places lists the Mobile for 119.99 online. Normally we'd suggest waiting till this product was on the market a bit longer to scoop up a bargain, but given the HDD market at this time due to the flooding in Thailand there aren't going to be too many bargains for quite awhile. If you are a PC user (without FireWire 800) I'd suggest passing the G-DRIVE Mobile over and look at the company's USB 3.0 product line. MAC users with 1394b will be fine with the Mobile, well, until they need high speed storage for a PC.

 

TweakTown image 4/4/4466_1234_g_technology_g_drive_mobile_hdd_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below