TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,012 Reviews & Articles | 38,775 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Windows 9 logo teased, with Microsoft's next OS 'coming soon'

NZXT Classic Series H2 Mid Tower Case Review - The Build and Finished Product

The Classic series gets a new and silent addition with the NZXT H2 mid tower chassis.

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Jun 10, 2011 5:04 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: NZXT

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4138_26_nzxt_classic_series_h2_mid_tower_case_review.jpg

 

Since the H2 comes with a full cover door that blocks the view to the devices used in the 5.25" bay, there is no way to detract from the sleek and elegant look of the smooth flat black finish with chrome trimming.

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4138_27_nzxt_classic_series_h2_mid_tower_case_review.jpg

 

There is more than enough room to house my build. With up to 310mm of room if you remove a couple of hard drive trays, there is even room for the larger cards out there. I had absolutely no issues with the cooler or any of the drives placements, and when it was all said and done, it is a clean looking build.

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4138_28_nzxt_classic_series_h2_mid_tower_case_review.jpg

 

The rear of the chassis is all filled in and just about ready for powering up and testing. One thing I will address here has to do with the expansion slots. When I tried to install my card, I had to really press on the back of the chassis to make the holes for the thumb screws line up. While I was able to eventually make it work, it was some hassle to get it done.

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4138_29_nzxt_classic_series_h2_mid_tower_case_review.jpg

 

The 25mm of room here is greatly appreciated. I was able to route each group of wires as I attached them and tie them down in a layered layout. Even with the front I/O wires running under the 24-pin wire and the SATA cables just strapped to other power leads, I had no issue sliding the panel over this wiring.

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4138_30_nzxt_classic_series_h2_mid_tower_case_review.jpg

 

I installed a 2.5" drive into the hard drive dock just for show. You can see a little better once I have the drive in that the padded rails are set up more for 3.5" drives, but the 2.5" drive, once clipped into the power and SATA receiver, make for a pretty solid fit.

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4138_31_nzxt_classic_series_h2_mid_tower_case_review.jpg

 

I will show you the case powered up from a better angle, but the lighting found on the front doesn't show up so well unless you are looking in a direct line with the bottom right corner of the front door. There is a HDD activity light at the top and neither really abuse the eyes or flood the room with bright light.

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4138_32_nzxt_classic_series_h2_mid_tower_case_review.jpg

 

Taking one last look at the H2 chassis as it sits here silently running, awaiting my testing and making sure everything is functional.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases