TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,920 Reviews & Articles | 38,141 News Posts

Corsair TX750V2 750 Watt Power Supply Review

Corsair's new TX750V2 gets loaded up in our latest quick review.

| Other PSUs in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Apr 7, 2011 3:44 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%      Manufacturer: Corsair

TweakTown image content/3/9/3985_90_corsair_tx750v2_750_watt_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Corsair recently refreshed their TX series of power supplies and asked us to take a look at both the TX850V2 and TX750V2. We recently gave an in depth look at the TX850V2 here. Since the TX750V2 is nearly identical to the TX850V2, we will be using the quick review format to take a look at the TX750V2.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3985_02_corsair_tx750v2_750_watt_power_supply_review.jpg

 

DC outputs for the TX750V2 are just what you would expect from a 750W power supply. Both the 3.3V and 5V rails are rated for 25A each and a combined maximum current of 150W. 12V power is delivered for a single rail rated at 62A.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3985_03_corsair_tx750v2_750_watt_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Corsair does a great job in supplying you with almost every feature that you can ask for with the TX series of power supplies. The TX750V2 comes with SCP, OVP, OCP, OPP, and OTP. As part of the refresh of the TX series, the TX750V2 has gained some efficiency over its predecessor and is now 80Plus Bronze rated. The unit boasts ATX V2.3 support and is also rated for 100% continuous output at 50C.

 

Those seeking to purchase the TX750V2 shouldn't have much trouble as it is readily available almost everywhere. Corsair has launched the TX750V2 with an MSRP of $119. Newegg has the TX750V2 for $119.99 with a $10 mail-in rebate and free shipping, bringing the price down to $109. Corsair backs the TX750V2 with a 5 year warranty.

 

External packaging for the TX750V2 is nearly identical to that of the TX850V2 with the exception of the I/O specifications, since they are different. Everything else is the same. Internal packaging is identical as well. The unit is well protected and should arrive without damage.

 

Unpacking the unit reveals the power supply in a matte black finish. Both sides of the power supply show the TX750V2 logo. On the back of the power supply is a single on/off toggle switch with the AC input and a honeycomb mesh grill. The bottom of the power supply features a 140mm exhaust fan with wire grill and the I/O specification label resides on top of the power supply.

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3985_04_corsair_tx750v2_750_watt_power_supply_review.jpg

 

The TX750V2 has a decent selection of cables and connectors for your disposal which is identical to that of the TX850V2. Other than the mandatory 20+4 pin Main connector, there is a single ATX 4+4 connector, four PCI-E 6+2 pin connectors, six SATA connectors, eight Molex connectors, and two FDD connectors. It would be nice to see a few more SATA connectors and a few less Molex and FDD connectors here. There is a single 12V rail feeding all of these.

 

Moving to the inside, we see a very clean layout with several heatsinks for efficient cooling. The TX750V2 features 100% Japanese capacitor construction with a pair of Rubycon caps on the primary side and a mix of Rubycon and Nippon Chemi-con capacitors on the secondary. Cooling the TX750V2 is a 140mm Yate Loon D14BH-12 fan.

 

Those unfamiliar with our standard testing approach can find more information here. Our testing equipment allows us to test the TX750V2 to the maximum.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3985_05_corsair_tx750v2_750_watt_power_supply_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3985_06_corsair_tx750v2_750_watt_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Overall, the TX750V2 performs well. As a matter of fact, it performs almost identical to that of the TX850V2. Voltages had slightly better regulation, with both the 3.3V and 5V rails being within 1.2% of ATX specifications and with the 12V rail coming within 1.3%. Noise on the 12V rail was almost identical, but overall was a tad bit higher. During Test 1, the ripple seen was 8mV peak to peak. This slowly increased as the load tests were increased, reaching a maximum of 24mV peak to peak at full load. Efficiency was right on par with what it should be for an 80Plus Bronze rated power supply.

 

At $109 after rebate, the Corsair TX750V2 is priced right in the middle of the line for 700W-800W power supplies. The features included and the performance of the TX750V2 feel like they are right in the middle of the line between lower end and high end power supplies. That being said, the TX750V2 would be an excellent power supply to fit the bill in both budget systems and entry level enthusiast machines.

 

TweakTown image 3/9/3985_1234_corsair_tx750v2_750_watt_power_supply_review.png

 

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases