TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,672 Reviews & Articles | 36,052 News Posts

TRENDnet TEW-691GR 450Mbps Wireless Router - The TEW-691GR

Is the typical 300Mbps not enough for you anymore? Try the 450Mbps TEW-691GR wireless router from TRENDnet.

| Routers & Access Points in Networking | Posted: Jul 13, 2010 10:45 am
TweakTown Rating: 77%      Manufacturer: TRENDnet

The TEW-691GR

 

The actual TEW-691GR is not a bad looking product. It is black and sleek.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3395_01.jpg

 

Along the front are the obligatory lights to indicate power, WAN, WLAN and LAN connectivity as well as a WPS indicator.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3395_09.jpg

 

The sides have the cooling vents while the left side has a the WPS button.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3395_06.jpg

 

The back is the business end. As we mentioned before, all the antennas are hard mounted to the TEW-691GR. You also have a switch to manually turn the TEW-691GR on and off. This is right next to the switch that lets you turn the wireless on or off. The four LAN ports visible are all GBe, as is the WAN port.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3395_07.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3395_08.jpg

 

As we mentioned in the introduction, the TEW-691 is rated at 450Mbps (theoretical). In reality this means up to a 225Mbps connection. The specifications on the unit are pretty impressive. The TEW-691GR does not support multiple bands (2.4GHz and 5GHz). instead it operates in the 2.4GHz frequency range (2.412-2.472GHz). Each of the three fixed antennas is 4dBi dipole. It is these antennas that allow for the three spatial streams.

 

But interestingly enough, while the TEW-691GR is capable of supporting three data streams, if you connect with a card that only has two antennas then you will only get two (as you probably might have figured). At that point your connection speed will drop back down to 150Mbps or below.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3395_10.png

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Networking content at our Networking reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below