Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,678 Reviews & Articles | 45,645 News Posts

TRENDnet TEW-691GR 450Mbps Wireless Router - The TEW-691GR


By: | Routers & Access Points in Networking | Posted: Jul 13, 2010 10:45 am
TweakTown Rating: 77%Manufacturer: TRENDnet

The TEW-691GR

 

The actual TEW-691GR is not a bad looking product. It is black and sleek.

 

content/3/3/3395_01.jpg

 

Along the front are the obligatory lights to indicate power, WAN, WLAN and LAN connectivity as well as a WPS indicator.

 

content/3/3/3395_09.jpg

 

The sides have the cooling vents while the left side has a the WPS button.

 

content/3/3/3395_06.jpg

 

The back is the business end. As we mentioned before, all the antennas are hard mounted to the TEW-691GR. You also have a switch to manually turn the TEW-691GR on and off. This is right next to the switch that lets you turn the wireless on or off. The four LAN ports visible are all GBe, as is the WAN port.

 

content/3/3/3395_07.jpg

 

content/3/3/3395_08.jpg

 

As we mentioned in the introduction, the TEW-691 is rated at 450Mbps (theoretical). In reality this means up to a 225Mbps connection. The specifications on the unit are pretty impressive. The TEW-691GR does not support multiple bands (2.4GHz and 5GHz). instead it operates in the 2.4GHz frequency range (2.412-2.472GHz). Each of the three fixed antennas is 4dBi dipole. It is these antennas that allow for the three spatial streams.

 

But interestingly enough, while the TEW-691GR is capable of supporting three data streams, if you connect with a card that only has two antennas then you will only get two (as you probably might have figured). At that point your connection speed will drop back down to 150Mbps or below.

 

content/3/3/3395_10.png

 

    PRICING: You can find products similar to this one for sale below.


    United States: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon's website.

    United Kingdom: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon UK's website.

    Australia: Find other tech and computer products like this over at PLE Computer's website.

    Canada: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon Canada's website.



    We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Or Scroll Down