TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,075 Reviews & Articles | 39,015 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: GTA V will offer first-person mode on foot, and in vehicles on PC

NZXT M59 Classic Series Mid Tower Chassis - Inside The NZXT M59 Mid Tower Case

The M59 is a Mid Tower chassis that offers quite a list of features. Let's test the old adage and see if good things still come in small packages.

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Mar 1, 2010 12:24 am
TweakTown Rating: 91%Manufacturer: NZXT

Inside The NZXT M59 Mid Tower Case

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3157_11.jpg

 

Here you get a much better idea of the tint of the window in the M59. It is more of the European automotive bronze tint look. The fan mounted here does house blue LED's and plugs in with an optional 3-pin fan connection or the 4-pin Molex plug. There is a bit of tape hanging off the fan to remind me to mention that even the cabling was taped to the back of the fan to keep the wire from scratching the window.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3157_12.jpg

 

With the panels off, this mid tower looks quite roomy. And to be honest, you will soon see it is plenty of case. NZXT went to town adding holes for wire management, CPU back plate access and also went mostly tool-less on the interior. Oh right, did I mention it's black? The same textured finish on the outside is found covering everything except the plastic front panel.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3157_13.jpg

 

The front I/O cables are all good in length and should be no issue getting where they need to be on your board. Besides the multi-colored band holding the power, reset, HDD LED and the power LED, the USB 2.0, audio, and e-SATA cables are all black. This makes hiding them a bit easier against the black back drop.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3157_14.jpg

 

Inside the front of the M59 there are four 5.25" bays that have tool-less key ways, but no tool-less keys, just thumb screws to mount these drives. In the middle, there are two bays for 3.5" floppy drives. The bottom is where you house up to five 3.5" drives. However, NZXT does offer an adapter for one SSD, which I will show in a bit.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3157_15.jpg

 

Looking from the inside, you can see quite a bit of white peeking through from the back drop. That means to me, the ventilation is pretty open. This chassis should be able to keep pretty cool under operation as long as the right airflow is present.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3157_16.jpg

 

From the rear you get a pretty good look at the holes and the little "punch out" in the motherboard tray. These are in strategic places to allow you a place to tie up and tidy your wiring. For any extra wiring, you are left with either the HDD bays or the little bit of room next to the floppy drive bays. There isn't a whole lot of extra space to make them disappear.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3157_19.jpg

 

As I said, wrap your fingers under the front panel and pull, the front plastic comes right off. This will allow you access to install your optical drives, or add a fan in the front. All of the front I/O wiring is attached to the front bezel and passes through a hole in the front to keep them tidy. As I mentioned, each section of the front is backed with thin foam held in with tabs of mesh.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases