TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,078 Reviews & Articles | 39,029 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: GTA V will offer first-person mode on foot, and in vehicles on PC

Google Nexus 4 Smartphone Review 2.0 - Two Months with Google's Superstar Smartphone - What I've Loved, What Hasn't Been So Good & Camera Tests

Google Nexus 4 Smartphone Review 2.0 - Two Months with Google's Superstar Smartphone
We've had two months with the still-sold-out Nexus 4 from Google and LG. Come find out our thoughts after two months of use.
| Phones in Mobile Devices | Posted: Feb 16, 2013 10:53 am

What I've Loved, What Hasn't Been So Good & Camera Tests

 

The Good:

 

The screen. It is gorgeous, I said this in my review, but it really just us beautiful. Colors pop, text is sharp and it feels great to tap and slide on.

 

The physical feel of the Nexus 4 in my hands. The curved glass on the front not only looks great, but it feels great, too. The whole device feels perfect. A huge step up from the plastic feel on Samsung Galaxy S III.

 

Google services, they're just so great. Maps, YouTube, Google Now, Navigation, Gmail, and many others. They mould into this phone, and when used correctly with Chrome on the phone and on your desktop, everything syncs beautifully.

 

The overall experience of the Nexus 4. I've tried using friends' iPhone 5's, and they just don't compare. Even during my week-long experience with the iPhone 5 for my review, I felt underwhelmed. And Samsung's offerings, whilst great, still force feed you their TouchWiz UI - which is where the 'pure Android experience' comes into play. My overall experience of the Nexus 4 has been sublime.

 

Android as an OS. Android has really come into its own, and I covered a lot of this in my Android 4.2 Jelly Bean review, but using the 'pure Android experience' on the Nexus 4 has just made me fall even more in love. It feels like it flows in and out of the Nexus 4 like they are made for each other - because, well, they are.

 

 

The Bad:

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5201_16_google_nexus_4_smartphone_review_2_0_two_months_with_google_s_superstar_smartphone.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5201_17_google_nexus_4_smartphone_review_2_0_two_months_with_google_s_superstar_smartphone.jpg

 

Scratches! I have a hair line scratch on the screen itself, and a bunch of smaller ones on the back. I don't use a cover or screen protector, as I like my phone like my women... naked. I'm not mad at the scratches, but I treat my phone like it's the most precious thing on Earth and they still appeared. The one on the front of the screen is annoying as hell, as it shows itself whenever the Nexus 4 is tilted in the right light.

 

Battery life at first - it took a couple of weeks to really run the battery in, something I didn't quite expect. I even said in my review "battery life wasn't too bad, but I wasn't overly impressed with it, either". Once those weeks were over, I went from not even a full day of use, to nearly a whole day.

 

The camera. The Nexus 4's camera is mediocre. Sometimes it performs much better than I'd expect for a smartphone priced at under $350, but then at other times, it's dismal. I found over the couple of months of use, the Camera app would just completely lock up to the point where it would display everything and I could change options, but when I tapped the on-screen button to snap a photo, nothing would happen. I'd need to swipe the app to close it, re-open it and it would then work again.

 

I've been snapping away taking photos everywhere I go, which I'm sure you do too, so here are some shots I've taken in my two months with the Nexus 4. There are a few more at the end in the gallery.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5201_04_google_nexus_4_smartphone_review_2_0_two_months_with_google_s_superstar_smartphone.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5201_05_google_nexus_4_smartphone_review_2_0_two_months_with_google_s_superstar_smartphone.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5201_06_google_nexus_4_smartphone_review_2_0_two_months_with_google_s_superstar_smartphone.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5201_07_google_nexus_4_smartphone_review_2_0_two_months_with_google_s_superstar_smartphone.jpg

 

Here are some of the better Panorama shots I've taken.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5201_01_google_nexus_4_smartphone_review_2_0_two_months_with_google_s_superstar_smartphone.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5201_02_google_nexus_4_smartphone_review_2_0_two_months_with_google_s_superstar_smartphone.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5201_03_google_nexus_4_smartphone_review_2_0_two_months_with_google_s_superstar_smartphone.jpg

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Mobile Devices content at our Mobile Devices reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases