TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,200 Reviews & Articles | 40,014 News Posts

Biwin NuvoDrive NX Novachips Bugatti Preview - World Exclusive - Biwin NuvoDrive NX Early Preview SSD

Biwin's NuvoDrive NX is the first SSD announced with the new Novachips Bugatti controller. Today Chris takes a full run with an engineering sample to see if this 10-Channel controller lives up to its racy name.

| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Jul 9, 2012 1:27 pm
Manufacturer: Biwin

Biwin NuvoDrive NX Early Preview SSD

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4827_03_biwin_nuvodrive_nx_novachips_bugatti_preview_world_s_first_test.jpg

 

The NuvoDrive NX uses the same case design as the Elite series model we have in the lab with a SandForce controller under the hood.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4827_04_biwin_nuvodrive_nx_novachips_bugatti_preview_world_s_first_test.jpg

 

The early sample drive uses a 2.5" form factor with a 9mm z-height.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4827_05_biwin_nuvodrive_nx_novachips_bugatti_preview_world_s_first_test.jpg

 

Getting right to the good part. The Novachips Bugatti controller is the large chip to the right of the PCB. This is a 10-channel controller so there are 20 NAND flash ICs instead of the standard 16 that we see on most drives using 8-channels.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4827_06_biwin_nuvodrive_nx_novachips_bugatti_preview_world_s_first_test.jpg

 

There are 10 flash ICs on each side of the PCB.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4827_07_biwin_nuvodrive_nx_novachips_bugatti_preview_world_s_first_test.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the Novachips Bugatti controller. The writing on the chip is pretty worn from the thermal pad that rests between the controller and the drive case.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4827_08_biwin_nuvodrive_nx_novachips_bugatti_preview_world_s_first_test.jpg

 

On the early sample Biwin chose to use a 256MB DDR buffer. With many of the new Marvell drives going up to a 1GB buffer (Vertex 4 512GB), it will be interesting to see what Biwin does on the final drive.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4827_09_biwin_nuvodrive_nx_novachips_bugatti_preview_world_s_first_test.jpg

 

The early sample uses Micron flash that is labeled 2FA12 and NW295. This should be L74A which is 25nm ONFi flash. The total amount of flash is 320GB.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4827_10_biwin_nuvodrive_nx_novachips_bugatti_preview_world_s_first_test.jpg

 

This may bring back some memories. On the early Indilinx Barefoot drives you had to close the circuit with a jumper to flash the drives with new firmware. We can't say for sure what the jumper is for - we didn't want to kill the sample in this test.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases