Technology content trusted in North America and globally since 1999
8,588 Reviews & Articles | 67,095 News Posts

Battlefield 1 Premium includes just four expansions

Battlefield 1 Premium includes one fewer expansion than before, free map planned

By Sean Ridgeley on Aug 24, 2016 11:42 am CDT - 0 mins, 49 secs reading time

Details regarding the Premium Pass for Battlefield 1 have surfaced on the Xbox Store and Origin, indicating a similar setup to recent Battlefield games.

Battlefield 1 Premium includes just four expansions |

The base game will cost you the usual $60, while Premium will go for $50. For your money, you'll get (over time) four expansion packs (one themed around Russia) which will include 16 maps, new modes, Elite classes (akin to heroes in Battlefront e.g. flamethrower guy), 20 new weapons, 14 Battlepacks, exclusive dog tags, and more.

Each expansion will be available two weeks early to Premium members. The first -- titled They Shall Not Pass -- is themed around the French army, and will launch in March.

Battlefield 4 and Battlefield 3 included five expansions each for the same money, so some series fans are understandably angry. On the bright side, a free map -- Giant's Shadow -- is confirmed for December; one might hope EA and DICE are planning to release one free map between expansion releases to even things out a little.

Battlefield 1 launches October 21.

Sean Ridgeley

ABOUT THE AUTHOR - Sean Ridgeley

Sean has a background in journalism, and has been using that to write about gaming and tech since 2008 - first for Neoseeker, then Rage3D, and now, TweakTown. As News Editor, Sean's job is to supply regular stories on the latest happenings in the tech world. He also writes tweak guides to help you get the most out of your PC games and hardware.

Related Tags