GDC 2011: IGF & GDC Awards- Minecraft FTW

GDC 2011: Minecraft FTW in IGF and GDC awards, Rockstar cleans up as well.

| Mar 3, 2011 at 5:50 pm CST
Minecraft cleaned up last night at both the International Games Festival (IGF) and Game Developer's Choice Awards (GDC), winning no less than 5 different categories, including the Seamus McNally Grand Prize and Best Downloadable Game. Indie sensation Minecraft, developed by Mojang, has enjoyed a huge success in mainstream and independent gaming communities alike.


Also of note, San Diego Game Firm Rockstar took Game of the Year and three other categories in the GDC, winning four awards altogether. Go SoCal.

GDC 2011: IGF & GDC Awards- Minecraft FTW 10 |

Founder of Lionhead Studios Peter Moylneux walked away with the Lifetime Achievement Award, for his involvement and creation of games such as Fable, Black & White, and that favorite classic, Populous:

GDC 2011: IGF & GDC Awards- Minecraft FTW 11 |

He's the guy that created the first Populous? "Lifetime" Achievement indeed!

And let's not forget that Yu Suzuki won the Pioneer Award for inventing an entire genre with Virtua Fighter. My favorite part about VF was the absurdly unnecessarily high jump attack. Oh, and the giant pixellated muscles. And this guy:

GDC 2011: IGF & GDC Awards- Minecraft FTW 15 |

Ah, memories.

See below for both the IGF and GDC list of all award winners.


Seumas McNally Grand Prize ($20,000)
Minecraft, by Mojang

Nuovo Award($5,000)
Nidhogg, by Messhof

Excellence in Visual Art ($2,500)
BIT.TRIP RUNNER, by Gaijin Games

Excellence in Audio ($2,500)
Amnesia: The Dark Descent, by Frictional Games

Excellence in Design ($2,500)
Desktop Dungeons, by QCF Design

Best Student Game ($2,500)
FRACT, by University of Montreal

Technical Excellence ($2,500)
Amnesia: The Dark Descent, by Frictional Games

Best Mobile Game ($2,500)
Helsing's Fire, Ratloop

Audience Award ($2,500)
Minecraft, by Mojang

Direct2Drive Vision Award ($10,000)
Amnesia: The Dark Descent, by Frictional Games


Game of the Year: Red Dead Redemption (Rockstar)

Lifetime Achievement Award: Peter Moylneux

Pioneer Award: Yu Suzuki

Best Game Design: Red Dead Redemption (Rockstar)

Best Technology : Red Dead Redemption (Rockstar)

Best Audio: Red Dead Redemption (Rockstar)

Best Writing: Mass Effect 2 (BioWare)

Best Debut Game: Minecraft (Mojang)

Best Handheld Game: Cut the Rope (ZeptoLab)

Innovation Award: Minecraft (Mojang)

Best Visual Arts: Limbo (Playdead)

Best Downloadable Game: Minecraft (Mojang)

Last updated: Jun 16, 2020 at 04:29 pm CDT


Related Tags