TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,139 Reviews & Articles | 39,450 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

AMD Radeon R7 240GB Gaming SSD Review - AMD Radeon R7 240GB SSD

AMD Radeon R7 240GB Gaming SSD Review
AMD sent the specifications and OCZ applied the expertise. Now AMD has a high-quality "gaming" SSD to bundle with systems for a vertical approach. (NYSE:AMD, TYO:6502)
| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Aug 19, 2014 4:00 am
TweakTown Rating: 94%Manufacturer: AMD

AMD Radeon R7 240GB SSD

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6594_06_amd_radeon_r7_240gb_gaming_ssd_review.jpg

 

AMD used the same physical box type that OCZ used on the ARC 100 Series. The graphics are different though since this is a different product.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6594_07_amd_radeon_r7_240gb_gaming_ssd_review.jpg

 

The back of the package shows some performance data as well as a list of features. Here you will also find an OCZ logo so AMD and OCZ are not hiding their partnership.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6594_08_amd_radeon_r7_240gb_gaming_ssd_review.jpg

 

Inside the package, we found three paper manuals, one specifically for Acronis. We also found a desktop adapter bracket and mounting screws.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6594_09_amd_radeon_r7_240gb_gaming_ssd_review.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the drive. AMD used a 7mm z-height case for the Radeon R7, and like other OCZ SSDs, the case is made from an aluminum alloy. It's a very strong and sturdy design that also doubles as a heat sink for the controller.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6594_10_amd_radeon_r7_240gb_gaming_ssd_review.jpg

 

The part number, model number, and serial number are located on the back of the drive.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6594_11_amd_radeon_r7_240gb_gaming_ssd_review.jpg

 

As mentioned previously, this is a 7mm design so the Radeon R7 will work in nearly all desktops, notebooks and Ultrabooks.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6594_12_amd_radeon_r7_240gb_gaming_ssd_review.jpg

 

Unlike the ARC 100, this SSD ships with a desktop adapter bracket.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6594_13_amd_radeon_r7_240gb_gaming_ssd_review.jpg

 

The controller faces the cover so the cover acts as a heat sink for the controller.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6594_14_amd_radeon_r7_240gb_gaming_ssd_review.jpg

 

Inside, we found the Indilinx Barefoot 3 M00 controller paired with two Micron DRAM packages and sixteen A19 flash packages.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6594_15_amd_radeon_r7_240gb_gaming_ssd_review.jpg

The Barefoot 3 M00 is OCZ's current flagship flash controller. This is the same controller found on OCZ's Vector 150 SSD and uses a higher clock speed than the M10 found in Vertex 460 and ARC 100.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6594_16_amd_radeon_r7_240gb_gaming_ssd_review.jpg

 

The flash is Toshiba's new A19 that uses a die size of 19mm x 19.5mm. This is Toshiba's second generation 19nm flash - the first generation had a die size of 19mm x 27mm.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6594_17_amd_radeon_r7_240gb_gaming_ssd_review.jpg

 

The 240GB model we're looking at today has two Micron DDR3-1600 DRAM packages. Together, both packages provide 512mb of buffering capacity.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6594_18_amd_radeon_r7_240gb_gaming_ssd_review.jpg

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases