TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,144 Reviews & Articles | 39,494 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

BitFenix Comrade Mid-Tower Chassis Review - BitFenix Comrade Mid-Tower Chassis

BitFenix Comrade Mid-Tower Chassis Review
We have also received the brother to the Neos chassis for review. Take a look at the more aesthetically simplistic Comrade case. Let's see what Chad says.
| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Aug 6, 2014 2:15 am
TweakTown Rating: 84%Manufacturer: BitFenix

BitFenix Comrade Mid-Tower Chassis

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6563_07_bitfenix_comrade_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The front bezel is made of plastic, but it offers that SofTouch coating we have come to expect from BitFenix. To offer some style, around the outside edge there is a thin groove that continues to the bottom as it passes three angled slits on either side. Down the center we find three bay covers, and we find the logo much further below them.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6563_08_bitfenix_comrade_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Behind where the bezel attaches to the chassis, we can see that the rest of the top of the chassis is a solid steel panel, which wraps around both sides, and meets the top edges of the door panels.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6563_09_bitfenix_comrade_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

In this image, we not only see that left side panel is not much more than a black, textured, painted steel panel, but we can also see how the texture plays against the smoother surface of the front bezel.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6563_10_bitfenix_comrade_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Here, the top starts with a pair of holes and grommets to allow for water cooling, which are next to the rear I/O, but above the rear exhaust. Then we find seven expansion slots. One slot has a missing cover, and the rest are break-out covers; all of which have the mounting spots covered with a plastic cap. Of course, that leaves the PSU to go in the bottom.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6563_11_bitfenix_comrade_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

There is not much more going on with the right side of the chassis than what we were offered in the view of the left side. Although, there is one main difference; the difference being that this side is where BitFenix placed the front I/O panel.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6563_12_bitfenix_comrade_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

As we moved in closer for a better view, we find the I/O panel starts off with the power, followed by the reset button, which is then followed up by two LED indicators, and a pair of 3.5mm HD audio jacks. Things finish at the bottom with a single USB 2.0 connection, as well as a single port for USB 3.0.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6563_13_bitfenix_comrade_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Finishing the tour of the exterior brings us to this image. We find the Comrade has plastic feet that do tend to slide around a bit, but we can also see a removable dust filter under where the PSU will be installed.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases