TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,202 Reviews & Articles | 40,029 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Samsung wants the US government to block GeForce GPU shipments

MX Technology LX 256GB USB 3.0 Flash Drive Review

MX Technology LX 256GB USB 3.0 Flash Drive Review
We take a look at the 256GB MX LX, a value based solution from Mach Xtreme Technology. Follow on as Tyler gives us all the details on this new pen drive.
| USB Drives in Storage | Posted: Jun 13, 2014 10:00 pm
TweakTown Rating: 95%Manufacturer: MX Technology

TweakTown image content/6/4/6424_99_mx_technology_lx_256gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

 

Along with the increase in capacity on the ES flash drive, Mach Xtreme Technology has also increased the capacity of the LX series. In this article we will be looking over the 256GB model.

 

The LX series is a value-based series in the Mach Xtreme Technology portfolio. These drives offer tremendous storage capacity of up to 256GB using MLC NAND. Marketing specifications for this drive offer 220 MB/s read, and 140 MB/s write. Compatibility of the MX LX extends to modern Windows operating systems, along with OS X, and Linux.

 

MSRP of the Mach Xtreme Technology LX in the 256GB flavor is listed at $169.99, with a two-year warranty.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6424_02_mx_technology_lx_256gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

Packaging for the MX LX has the flash drive in bubble type packaging with marketing information surrounding it.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6424_03_mx_technology_lx_256gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

Like other flash drives from Mach Xtreme Technology, the LX also carries an aluminium design.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6424_04_mx_technology_lx_256gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

Above, we find the USB 3.0 port is colored blue.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6424_10_mx_technology_lx_256gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

 

The Mach Xtreme Technology LX is factory formatted with the FAT32 file system, insuring compatibility between Windows and Macintosh computers. The usable capacity after formatting is 238GB.

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6424_11_mx_technology_lx_256gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

 

Here we have the results from CDM. As you can see, the LX came in at 211 MB/s read, and 156 MB/s write.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6424_12_mx_technology_lx_256gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

 

Price/Performance for the LX once again refreshes Mach Xtreme Technology's reign at the top of our charts. The 256GB LX takes the top spot while the 64GB model moves down to second.

 

The Mach Xtreme Technology LX is the top tier solution for those wanting the best Price/Performance solution. While the entry price for the drive is slightly steep, it is certainly one you will get many years of use out of. Build quality of the drive is top notch, with the aluminium enclosure, and use of acrylic plastics.

 

Performance of the LX was quite ample. Here we reached 211 MB/s read, and 156 MB/s write, and over on Price/Performance we found the LX to take the top spot from its lower capacity counterpart.

 

MSRP of the Mach Xtreme Technology LX in the 256GB capacity is set at $169.99, with a two-year warranty. Current market pricing can be found below.

 

 

PRICING: You can find the MACH XTREME TECHNOLOGY LX 256GB for sale below. The prices listed are valid at the time of writing but can change at any time. Click the link to see the very latest pricing for the best deal.

 

United States: The MACH XTREME TECHNOLOGY LX 256GB retails for $169.99 at Amazon.

 

 

TweakTown image 6/4/6424_1234_mx_technology_lx_256gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

TweakTown image content/6/4/6424_100_mx_technology_lx_256gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases