TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,932 Reviews & Articles | 38,213 News Posts

Diamond BVU3500 DisplayLink USB 3.0 to DVI Adapter Review

Diamond BVU3500 DisplayLink USB 3.0 to DVI Adapter Review

We look at the BVU3500, a portable display solution based on DisplayLink technology from Diamond Multimedia for adding extra DVI support to your system.

| Cables & Adapters in Displays & Projectors | Posted: Jun 12, 2014 6:10 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%      Manufacturer: Diamond Multimedia

TweakTown image content/6/4/6419_99_diamond_bvu3500_displaylink_usb_3_0_to_dvi_adapter_review.png

 

For those of you that enjoy the ability to run multiple monitors, installing multiple PCI Express video cards isn't always the most efficient option; especially if you are using your PCIe slots for storage or other needs.

 

Diamond Multimedia has been a partner of AMD in the GPU business for a very long time, and as such, has gathered quite a bit of knowledge. The BVU3500 is part of Diamond's external USB graphics portfolio. This adapter carries a DVI port on the opposite end of the USB 3.0 connection, and packaging, as you will see, includes a few adapters to extend the capabilities. Maximum resolution support by this adapter comes in at 2560 x 1600 along with 1920 x 1200.Compatibility of the BVU3500 extends to modern Windows operating systems and OS X 10.6+.

 

MSRP for the Diamond BVU3500 is set at $64.99, with a one-year warranty.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6419_03_diamond_bvu3500_displaylink_usb_3_0_to_dvi_adapter_review.jpg

 

Packaging for the BVU3500 has the adapter packed tightly in cardboard next to it a few additional adapters.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6419_04_diamond_bvu3500_displaylink_usb_3_0_to_dvi_adapter_review.jpg

 

Scope of delivery for the BVU3500 includes the USB Display adapter along with a DVI to HDMI adapter, and DVI to VGA adapter.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6419_05_diamond_bvu3500_displaylink_usb_3_0_to_dvi_adapter_review.jpg

 

Above, we take a look at the adapter. The front of the device houses a small LED that illuminates when powered up.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6419_06_diamond_bvu3500_displaylink_usb_3_0_to_dvi_adapter_review.jpg

 

The edge of the Display adapter houses the USB 3.0 connection.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6419_07_diamond_bvu3500_displaylink_usb_3_0_to_dvi_adapter_review.jpg

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

The opposite end of the adapter houses the DVI connection, as shown in the previous photo in the last column.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6419_10_diamond_bvu3500_displaylink_usb_3_0_to_dvi_adapter_review.png

 

Included with the Display adapter is a driver disc that installs the DisplayLink software.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6419_11_diamond_bvu3500_displaylink_usb_3_0_to_dvi_adapter_review.png

 

Here, we can see the USB Display adapter in our device manager in Windows 8.

 

Build quality of the BVU3500 was quite surprising. In the past, I have used devices similar to these from other vendors, and it seems this Diamond product is on par with, or better than, what I found with those. As far as the adapters are concerned, the HDMI adapter that is included in the package has a rather interesting connect that can be angled away from the wall, giving you easier access to your HDMI port.

 

As far as my experience goes with the BVU3500, I was unable to get this adapter to work and power my Qnix 2710LED, but I don't really count that as a negative against the product, because even Intel's onboard graphics can't power this display. In further testing, I was able to get both a Gateway FPD2185W, and a HD2200 to fire up with ease. The HD2200 connected via the HDMI adapter with ease, and the FPD2185W allowed me to test both the VGA and DVI connection - both of which had no issues up to the max of the monitors.

 

MSRP of the Diamond BVU3500 is set at $64.99, with a one-year warranty. Current market pricing can be found below.

 

 

PRICING: You can find the DIAMOND USB 3.0 TO DVI ADAPTER (BVU3500) for sale below. The prices listed are valid at the time of writing but can change at any time. Click the link to see the very latest pricing for the best deal.

 

United States: The DIAMOND USB 3.0 TO DVI ADAPTER (BVU3500) retails for $61.80 at Amazon.

 

Canada: The DIAMOND USB 3.0 TO DVI ADAPTER (BVU3500) retails for CDN$82.49 at Amazon Canada.

 

 

TweakTown image 6/4/6419_1234_diamond_bvu3500_displaylink_usb_3_0_to_dvi_adapter_review.png

TweakTown image content/6/4/6419_100_diamond_bvu3500_displaylink_usb_3_0_to_dvi_adapter_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Displays & Projectors content at our Displays & Projectors reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases