TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,911 Reviews & Articles | 38,072 News Posts

Buffalo MiniStation Extreme 1TB External HDD Review

Buffalo MiniStation Extreme 1TB External HDD Review

We look at the MiniStation Extreme from Buffalo, a durable external solution with a pleasant 1TB capacity. Read on as Tyler gives us all the details.

| Enclosures/Externals in Storage | Posted: May 21, 2014 2:06 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%      Manufacturer: Buffalo

TweakTown image content/6/3/6357_99_buffalo_ministation_extreme_1tb_external_hdd_review.png

 

External storage solutions come in all shapes and sizes. In addition to this, as most of you know, these solutions are also purpose built to suit whether you want an extremely quick or highly durable solution.

 

The solution we have in the lab today comes from Buffalo in the form of the MiniStation Extreme. The MiniStation is available in both 500GB and 1TB capacities and features military class shock protection due to its internal design. Optionally, you can also setup 256Bit AES encryption via included software.

 

Compatibility of the MiniStation Extreme extends from modern Windows operating systems to OS X 10.5+

 

MSRP for the 1TB MiniStation Extreme is set at $99.99 with a three-year warranty.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6357_02_buffalo_ministation_extreme_1tb_external_hdd_review.jpg

 

Scope of delivery for the MiniStation leaves us with reading materials, a USB 3.0 extension cable, and the drive itself.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6357_03_buffalo_ministation_extreme_1tb_external_hdd_review.jpg

 

The drive houses a special USB 3.0 cable that tucks into the enclosure. In addition to this, we have a small plastic enclosure with rubberized sides to give the drive added durability.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6357_10_buffalo_ministation_extreme_1tb_external_hdd_review.png

 

Software included with the HD-PZU3 includes Secure Lock Manager for encryption and TurboPCex, which speeds up transfers to the device.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6357_11_buffalo_ministation_extreme_1tb_external_hdd_review.png

 

During setup, the software will ask if you want to enable encryption on your device.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6357_12_buffalo_ministation_extreme_1tb_external_hdd_review.png

 

Above, we have our read performance. As you can see, the MiniStation Extreme did quite well, coming in at 114.2 MB/s.

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6357_13_buffalo_ministation_extreme_1tb_external_hdd_review.png

 

Write performance came in at 113 MB/s, keeping the drive towards the top of our charts.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6357_14_buffalo_ministation_extreme_1tb_external_hdd_review.png

 

Finally, we have our Price/Performance chart. The Buffalo MiniStation came in at 73 percent, putting it in the top 5 for all 2.5-inch external drives.

 

The Buffalo MiniStation Extreme is certainly a drive worth considering if you are in the market for an external storage solution. The drive carries a tremendous amount of durability with its build materials and has been tested to comply with military standards. In fact, as you might have noticed, this is the first external drive I wasn't able to get internal pictures of. Not because I couldn't get the unit open, but because to do so would result in the enclosure being left worthless; that's how well the unit is built.

 

Performance of the unit was pretty good and indicative of the internal parts used in this case being a standard 2.5-inch hard drive. The Buffalo MiniStation did come out being a top five drive in all of our testing, and the charts above reflect this as well.

 

Value added features for this unit include the software encryption capabilities and the TurboPCex software, if you should choose to install it.

 

MSRP of the Buffalo MiniStation Extreme 1TB is set at $99.99 with a three-year warranty. Current market pricing can be found below.

 

 

PRICING: You can find the Buffalo MiniStation Extreme 1TB for sale below. The prices listed are valid at the time of writing but can change at any time. Click the link to see the very latest pricing for the best deal.

 

United States: The Buffalo MiniStation Extreme 1TB (Black) retails for $99.99 at Amazon.

 

Canada: The Buffalo MiniStation Extreme 1TB (Silver) retails for CDN$158.34 at Amazon Canada.

 

 

TweakTown image 6/3/6357_1234_buffalo_ministation_extreme_1tb_external_hdd_review.png

TweakTown image content/6/3/6357_100_buffalo_ministation_extreme_1tb_external_hdd_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases