TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,928 Reviews & Articles | 38,196 News Posts

iStarUSA 5K3525U Hot Swap Bay Enclosure Review

iStarUSA 5K3525U Hot Swap Bay Enclosure Review

The iStarUSA 5K3525U allows 3.5-inch and 2.5-inch drives to come together in a single bay chassis solution. Let's see what Tyler thinks of it now.

| Enclosures/Externals in Storage | Posted: Apr 29, 2014 6:05 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%      Manufacturer: iStarUSA

TweakTown image content/6/2/6287_99_istarusa_5k3525u_hot_swap_bay_enclosure_review.png

 

In our last review from iStarUSA, we had the chance to take a look at the 5K25TU, a hybrid solution that allowed us to install a slim optical and 2.5-inch SSD into a single 5.25-inch bay.

 

Today, we change things up a bit and look at another solution from iStarUSA but with a slightly different layout. This time around, we are taking a look at the 5K3525U, and as you would expect, this solution allows you to install a single 3.5-inch hard drive along with your favourite 2.5-inch SSD or HDD into a single 5.25-inch bay. Similarly to our last product from iStarUSA, we have front mounted USB 3.0 ports on this model that are powered via an internal header.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6287_02_istarusa_5k3525u_hot_swap_bay_enclosure_review.jpg

 

Scope of delivery for the 5K3525U includes a setup guide, dual SATA cables, mounting screws, and keys for both drive trays.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6287_03_istarusa_5k3525u_hot_swap_bay_enclosure_review.jpg

 

Here we have our first look at the front of the unit. As you can see, we have dual USB 3.0 ports at the right with the 3.5-inch tray holding the bottom slot and the 2.5-inch above.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6287_04_istarusa_5k3525u_hot_swap_bay_enclosure_review.jpg

 

The back of the device carries an open design, which allows single SATA power connection to supply power to both bays.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6287_06_istarusa_5k3525u_hot_swap_bay_enclosure_review.jpg

 

Above, we have loaded the iStarUSA up with a Seagate 600 Pro and 4TB WD Black for testing.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6287_10_istarusa_5k3525u_hot_swap_bay_enclosure_review.png

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

In testing the 2.5-inch slot, we found it to be a simple pass-through, and it gave us native speeds to our SSD.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6287_11_istarusa_5k3525u_hot_swap_bay_enclosure_review.png

 

The 3.5-inch tray also gave us native speeds as expected. Here you can see we achieved 188 MB/s read and 184 MB/s write with our WD Black.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6287_12_istarusa_5k3525u_hot_swap_bay_enclosure_review.png

 

Next up, we have USB 3.0, in which we were able to touch 443 MB/s read and 430 MB/s write, which are native speeds for our USB 3.0 controller.

 

Like the IStarUSA 5K25TU we reviewed previously, the 5K3525U carries a good deal of functionality along with build quality. The drive trays are tool-less, allowing for easy swapping of drives, and having the steel structure behind the plastic front panel really adds to the strength of the unit as a whole.

 

Performance of the 5K3525U was as expected with everything on the unit carrying a native pass-through giving us top performance from every interface. Overall, this is truly an excellent solution for anyone building a machine that would want to install a 2.5-inch SSD for their OS and 3.5-inch HDD for storage capacity.

 

MSRP of the iStarUSA 5K3525U is set at $74.99 with a one-year warranty.

 

 

PRICING: You can find the iStarUSA 5K3525U for sale below. The prices listed are valid at the time of writing but can change at any time. Click the link to see the very latest pricing for the best deal.

 

United States: The iStarUSA 5K3525U retails for $65.32 at Amazon.

 

 

TweakTown image 6/2/6287_1234_istarusa_5k3525u_hot_swap_bay_enclosure_review.png

TweakTown image content/6/2/6287_100_istarusa_5k3525u_hot_swap_bay_enclosure_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases