TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,998 Reviews & Articles | 38,721 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Intel's Core i7-5960X CPU has already been overclocked to 6.2GHz

Silicon Power Armor A30 1TB USB 3.0 External HDD Review

Silicon Power Armor A30 1TB USB 3.0 External HDD Review

We take a look at the orange and durable Armor A30 from Silicon Power. Read on as Tyler tells us about this new product and just how it works and performs.

| Enclosures/Externals in Storage | Posted: Apr 25, 2014 10:02 pm
TweakTown Rating: 90%      Manufacturer: Silicon Power

TweakTown image content/6/2/6276_99_silicon_power_armor_a30_1tb_usb_3_0_external_hdd_review.png

 

In today's market, we have an unreal amount of storage solutions, ranging from the smallest of flash drives to the largest RAID towers. Some of these units are designed to be insanely fast, and some are designed for their durability.

 

Today, we have a product designed to be durable and, at the same time, offer generous capacity at 1TB. The Silicon Power Armor A30 is a portable storage solution equipped with a USB 3.0 connection and durable plastic housing. This solution has increased durability thanks to the silicone rubber that surround the internal drive and enclosure.

 

Compatibility of the Armor A30 extends to modern Windows operating systems and Mac OS X 10.5+.

 

MSRP of the Silicon Power Armor A30 in the 1TB capacity is listed at $119.99 with a three-year warranty

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6276_02_silicon_power_armor_a30_1tb_usb_3_0_external_hdd_review.jpg

 

Scope of delivery for the Armor A30 finds the product with a USB 3.0 cable tucked around the enclosure. We also have a user guide.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6276_03_silicon_power_armor_a30_1tb_usb_3_0_external_hdd_review.jpg

 

The bottom edge of the drive houses a standard USB 3.0 port.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6276_04_silicon_power_armor_a30_1tb_usb_3_0_external_hdd_review.jpg

 

Opening the drive, you can see it uses the Samsung Momentus 1TB. We also noticed how the drive was secured using the silicone rubber.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6276_10_silicon_power_armor_a30_1tb_usb_3_0_external_hdd_review.png

 

In our first chart, we have the drive results after our sequential read testing. As you can see, the drive came in third right behind the two Seagate solutions at 120 MB/s.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6276_11_silicon_power_armor_a30_1tb_usb_3_0_external_hdd_review.png

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

Next, we move over to sequential write where we find the drive once again right behind the Backup Plus from Seagate. The drive is near neck and neck with the Voyager Air from Corsair.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6276_12_silicon_power_armor_a30_1tb_usb_3_0_external_hdd_review.png

 

In our price/performance chart, the Armor A30 came in at 73 percent, right in front of the WD Passport Ultra and behind the ADATA HV620.

 

The Silicon Power A30 in the 1TB capacity is a great solution for those needing a decent amount of capacity in a durable storage device. During my time with it, I did happen to have some unfortunate events with the drive, during which I knocked it off my desk while it was plugged into my PC and even dropped it while I was preparing the unit for images. After all of that, the unit still worked perfectly, and I wasn't able to hear any awkward drive clicks or anything that would otherwise raise an alarm that the drive may be bad.

 

Performance of the drive was pretty good as well, and we actually were able to hit 120 MB/s read with the drive, which is no small feat for a 2.5-inch hard drive. Write speed of the drive came in at that same 120 MB/s mark, and price/performance put this solution near the top of our charts as well.

 

MSRP of the Silicon Power Armor A30 is set at $119.99 with a three-year warranty. Current market pricing can be found below.

 

 

PRICING: You can find the Silicon Power Armor A30 for sale below. The prices listed are valid at the time of writing but can change at any time. Click the link to see the very latest pricing for the best deal.

 

United States: The Silicon Power Armor A30 retails for $74.99 at Amazon.

 

Canada: The Silicon Power Armor A30 retails for CDN$146.18 at Amazon Canada.

 

 

TweakTown image 6/2/6276_1234_silicon_power_armor_a30_1tb_usb_3_0_external_hdd_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases