TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,063 Reviews & Articles | 38,963 News Posts

Transcend StoreJet 35T3 2TB External HDD Review

Transcend StoreJet 35T3 2TB External HDD Review
Backing up your data is of utmost importance. Today we look at a simple solution from Transcend, the StoreJet 35T3, and see how it performs.
| Enclosures/Externals in Storage | Posted: Mar 3, 2014 3:00 pm
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: Transcend

TweakTown image content/6/1/6117_99_transcend_storejet_35t3_2tb_external_hdd_review.png

 

If you have ever found yourself in the position where you're trying to recover massive amounts of data, then you surely know how important an external storage solution can be to maintaining a scheduled backup. Whether they are large DAS arrays or simple single drive enclosures, these devices can save your life if you ever have a drive failure.

 

In for review today, we have the latter, a single drive external solution in the 3.5" form factor. The StoreJet 35T3 features capacities of 2TB and 3TB, and connects via USB 3.0. Compatibility extends to OS X 10.5+, Windows Vista, Windows 7 and 8, along with Linux Kernel 2.6.3+. The cost of the 35T3 in the tested 2TB capacity lands at $129.99 with a one-year warranty.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6117_02_transcend_storejet_35t3_2tb_external_hdd_review.jpg

 

Opening the packaging, we found everything packed together securely.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6117_03_transcend_storejet_35t3_2tb_external_hdd_review.jpg

 

Scope of delivery gives us the power adapter and the USB 3.0 cable, along with various reading materials.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6117_04_transcend_storejet_35t3_2tb_external_hdd_review.jpg

 

The front of the 35T3 includes a large button with a blue LED ring around it. The button serves as the one touch backup for the device.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6117_05_transcend_storejet_35t3_2tb_external_hdd_review.jpg

 

The back of the enclosure houses the USB 3.0 and the power connection.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6117_06_transcend_storejet_35t3_2tb_external_hdd_review.jpg

 

Here, you can see the enclosure sports quite a few ventilation holes; since this is a fan-less unit, this should allow heat to escape.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6117_10_transcend_storejet_35t3_2tb_external_hdd_review.png

 

The first piece of software preloaded on the 35T3 is the StoreJet Toolbox. This allows you to format the device, and even low-level format if needed.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6117_11_transcend_storejet_35t3_2tb_external_hdd_review.png

 

The second piece of the software is Transcend's Elite Data Management software. With this you can backup and restore your files; it also provides you with the ability to encrypt with AES 256-bit if you so choose.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6117_12_transcend_storejet_35t3_2tb_external_hdd_review.png

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

Our first test for the 35T3 was to read and write a 4GB file to the device. As you can see, the StoreJet did quite well, garnering 164 MB/s read, and 173 MB/s write.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6117_13_transcend_storejet_35t3_2tb_external_hdd_review.png

 

4K random performance came in at 159 IOPS read, with 306 IOPS write.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6117_14_transcend_storejet_35t3_2tb_external_hdd_review.png

 

Sequential performance was quite admirable as well. Here we have 174 MB/s read, and 175 MB/s write.

 

To be honest, I have always loved Transcend's products, and the StoreJet 35T3 is no exception. Even with the enclosure being made from plastic, the unit feels quite durable. Even further, all ports line-up correctly, which is something we don't always see from other vendors. There are no interesting loose parts rattling around inside the enclosure; everything is put together securely.

 

Performance of the 35T3 in the 2TB configuration was quite remarkable for a HDD based unit. Thanks to the Seagate Barracuda used inside the unit, we were able to touch 175 MB/s read and write via USB 3.0.

 

In addition to the drive itself, Transcend has put together a software package to help you backup your data, and with an encryption option if you so choose to use it. Furthermore, you can use the one touch backup button on the front of the unit to start your backup without the need for software.

 

One thing that did concern me with the 35T3 was the lack of a power button. While the unit does have a sleep function, it's hard to tell when the drive is going to spin up and start working. There were a few times the unit woke up when I was moving or getting ready to disconnect it.

 

Sale price of the Transcend 35T3 in the 2TB capacity sits at $129.99 with a one-year warranty. Of course, market pricing and availability may differ at certain times, so we invite you to check current pricing below.

 

 

PRICING: You can find the Transcend StoreJet 35T3 for sale below. The prices listed are valid at the time of writing, but can change at any time. Click the link to see the very latest pricing for the best deal.

 

United States: The Transcend StoreJet 35T3 (2TB) retails for $129.00 at Amazon, and the Transcend StoreJet 35T3 (3TB) retails for $159.00 at Amazon.

 

Canada: The Transcend StoreJet 35T3 (2TB) retails for $144.14 at Amazon Canada, and the Transcend StoreJet 35T3 (3TB) retails for $201.91 at Amazon Canada.

 

 

TweakTown image 6/1/6117_1234_transcend_storejet_35t3_2tb_external_hdd_review.png

TweakTown image content/6/1/6117_100_transcend_storejet_35t3_2tb_external_hdd_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases