TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,913 Reviews & Articles | 38,086 News Posts

Vantec NexStar 6G USB 3.0 Storage Enclosure Review

Vantec NexStar 6G USB 3.0 Storage Enclosure Review

Today we look at the latest from Vantec, the NexStar 6G. Read on as we explore the performance of this elegant enclosure.

| Enclosures/Externals in Storage | Posted: Feb 18, 2014 6:35 pm
TweakTown Rating: 90%      Manufacturer: Vantec

TweakTown image content/6/0/6082_99_vantec_nexstar_6g_usb_3_0_storage_enclosure_review.png

 

External enclosures are simple devices that allow us to build and upgrade our very own storage solutions. Over the past few years, these devices have come with Firewire, eSATA, USB, and now they feature Thunderbolt connectivity.

 

The Vantec NexStar is one of the most popular and long living brands in the external storage market; going all the back to my beginnings as an enthusiast, I have always had at least one NexStar product in use. Today, we have the latest NexStar from Vantec in-house: the 6G.

 

The NexStar 6G is a 2.5" external enclosure featuring USB 3.0 connectivity, adorned by an aluminium exterior. Compatibility of the product extends to modern Windows operating systems, and Mac OS X 10.6+. Warranty is listed at one year.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6082_02_vantec_nexstar_6g_usb_3_0_storage_enclosure_review.jpg

 

Looking over the scope of delivery, we found the USB 3.0 cable, along with needed installation screws, included with the NexStar 6G.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6082_04_vantec_nexstar_6g_usb_3_0_storage_enclosure_review.jpg

 

The enclosure, as seen above, is a single piece aluminium design. The top of the enclosure houses the Vantec branding.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6082_03_vantec_nexstar_6g_usb_3_0_storage_enclosure_review.jpg

 

The edge of the drive houses the USB 3.0 connection, with an activity indicator to the left.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6082_05_vantec_nexstar_6g_usb_3_0_storage_enclosure_review.jpg

 

Sliding out the internal tray, we find the PCB ready to accept any 2.5" drive. The PCB on this device uses the ASMedia 1053 controller, with UASP support.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6082_12_vantec_nexstar_6g_usb_3_0_storage_enclosure_review.jpg

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

To accurately test external enclosures, we utilize the SanDisk X110 SSD in the 256GB capacity. This drive is capable of 500 MB/s read, and 450 MB/s write, making it the perfect companion drive for testing external storage enclosures.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6082_10_vantec_nexstar_6g_usb_3_0_storage_enclosure_review.png

 

Our read testing of the NexStar 6G went quite well. Above, you can see our test drive was able to reach just over 450 MB/s at its peak.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6082_11_vantec_nexstar_6g_usb_3_0_storage_enclosure_review.png

 

In write testing, our test drive reached 430 MB/s at its peak. With these results, it's pretty safe to say that the Vantec NexStar 6G is capable of reaching the peak of USB 3.0 performance.

 

After working with the NexStar 6G over the past few weeks, I must say I am pleasantly surprised by the overall build quality of the unit. With the shell of the enclosure being aluminium, is does offer protection for whatever drive you choose to put inside, and at the same time, it also offers a bit of elegance. While the internal tray is plastic, it does not feel flimsy or otherwise cheap in its quality either.

 

Performance of the enclosure was quite good. We were able to reach peak read performance for USB 3.0, while write speeds came in just under the theoretical maximum at 430 MB/s.

 

Pricing of the Vantec NexStar 6G is set at $22.99 at the time of writing, with high availability. The warranty on the enclosure is listed at one year.

 

TweakTown image 6/0/6082_1234_vantec_nexstar_6g_usb_3_0_storage_enclosure_review.png

TweakTown image content/6/0/6082_100_vantec_nexstar_6g_usb_3_0_storage_enclosure_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases