TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,208 Reviews & Articles | 40,169 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: GTA V will have 'just for PC' features, including a video editor

Thermaltake Max 5 Quad Storage Rack Review - More HDDs for your case

Thermaltake Max 5 Quad Storage Rack Review - More HDDs for your case
The Max 5 Quad from Thermaltake ups the ante, supporting four drives in a 5.25" bay enclosure. Read on as Tyler gives us his opinion on the device.
| Enclosures/Externals in Storage | Posted: Feb 5, 2014 2:04 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: Thermaltake

TweakTown image content/6/0/6050_99_thermaltake_max_5_quad_storage_rack_review_more_hdds_for_your_case.png

 

After our recent review of the Max 5 Duet, I thought it wise to come right back with another storage solution from the same line-up in Thermaltake's closet. The solution we are looking over today is the Max 5 Quad, the largest of the Max 5 line-up.

 

The Max 5 Quad is a 5.25" bay device that allows the use of four 2.5" SATA drives in one hot swap capable enclosure. Expanding upon the Duet, the Quad uses locking drive trays, rather than the tool-less installation of the smaller Duet model. Compatibility extends to all generation of SATA drives. The Max 5 Quad carries a MSRP of $39.99, with a one-year warranty.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6050_02_thermaltake_max_5_quad_storage_rack_review_more_hdds_for_your_case.jpg

 

Within the scope of delivery, we find screws for mounting drives and the enclosure, in addition to a host of SATA cables for connecting to your PC.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6050_03_thermaltake_max_5_quad_storage_rack_review_more_hdds_for_your_case.jpg

 

The drive trays for the Max 5 Quad carry a pure plastic design, but have enough structure behind them to maintain durability.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6050_04_thermaltake_max_5_quad_storage_rack_review_more_hdds_for_your_case.jpg

 

The front of the Quad houses the drive trays up top, with activity indicators for each drive below.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6050_05_thermaltake_max_5_quad_storage_rack_review_more_hdds_for_your_case.jpg

 

The back of the unit houses four SATA ports to the left, with a cooling fan in the center. To the right, a molex power connection is present to feed all drives.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6050_06_thermaltake_max_5_quad_storage_rack_review_more_hdds_for_your_case.jpg

 

Here, we have installed our drives in the trays in preparation for testing.

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6050_10_thermaltake_max_5_quad_storage_rack_review_more_hdds_for_your_case.png

 

Above, we have results from testing our SSD using a direct connection to the SATA III ports of our Z77 motherboard. The drive achieves 512 MB/s read, with 461 MB/s write.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6050_11_thermaltake_max_5_quad_storage_rack_review_more_hdds_for_your_case.png

 

We found no performance loss after putting our drives in the Max 5 Quad. Here, we have 516 MB/s read, and 462 MB/s write.

 

The Max 5 Quad from Thermaltake is one of those devices that comes along, and aides in building a clean, well-kept machine. Build quality of the unit was quite good; the drive trays slide and lock with ease, and installing the device into your bay requires only a few screws, and it's ready to go. Though, I did have some issues with my rack mount chassis that uses a rail system; the pins from the rails were too long, and protruded inside the Max 5, blocking the trays from sliding in.

 

The Max 5 Quad carries on and offers a solution to double the capacity of the Max 5 Duet we looked at previously, and with the pass-through design, we lost no performance in our testing. Additionally, the internal cooling fan allows adequate airflow to ensure your drives stay within operating specifications.

 

The Thermaltake Max 5 Quad carries a MSRP of $39.99, with market availability slim at this point. Of course, market pricing and availability may differ at certain times, so we invite you to check current pricing below. The Max 5 Quad carries a one-year warranty.

 

 

PRICING: You can find the Thermaltake Max 5 Quad for sale below. The prices listed are valid at the time of writing, but can change at any time. Click the link to see the very latest pricing for the best deal.

 

United Kingdom: The Thermaltake Max 5 Quad retails for 41.99 pounds at Amazon UK.

 

 

TweakTown image 6/0/6050_1234_thermaltake_max_5_quad_storage_rack_review_more_hdds_for_your_case.png

TweakTown image content/6/0/6050_100_thermaltake_max_5_quad_storage_rack_review_more_hdds_for_your_case.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases