TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,932 Reviews & Articles | 38,213 News Posts

GamerStorm Gabriel Low-Profile CPU Cooler Review - GamerStorm Gabriel Low-Profile CPU Cooler

GamerStorm Gabriel Low-Profile CPU Cooler Review

In search of a low-profile cooler for your new Mini-ITX or SFF build? GamerStorm offers up the Gabriel, and it is well worth a look.

| CPU Air Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Jan 15, 2014 2:09 am
TweakTown Rating: 95%      Manufacturer: GamerStorm

GamerStorm Gabriel Low-Profile CPU Cooler

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6005_08_gamerstorm_gabriel_low_profile_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

From this side of the Gabriel, it is easy to see there are three distinct sections of the aluminum fins. There is the thin section to the right, and as that moves left, the fins get a bit deeper. Those same longer fins also step back at the lower section to assure this cooler will fit where it is intended to go.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6005_09_gamerstorm_gabriel_low_profile_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

We have all seen pipes coming out of fins, and this is why the focus is on the lower section. There you will find the embossed logo that is in every fin of the cooler, and you will also get a visual of the sticker applied there.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6005_10_gamerstorm_gabriel_low_profile_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

On the other side of the Gabriel, we see the fin design has changed. There is a cut-away near the front of this side, but the rest of the fin shaping is the same as we saw on the opposing side.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6005_11_gamerstorm_gabriel_low_profile_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

As the heat pipes run from the base to the top of the fins where they run through the cooler again, there is a spread to them that puts them under the most efficient part of the fan. Also, the fins are creased for a bit more solidity, and again we can see the embossed logo.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6005_12_gamerstorm_gabriel_low_profile_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Looking at the top of the Gabriel, we see that there are spacers folded down between each fin to keep the spacing correct. I am still not sure of the reason for the notch in the design, but we have to assume there was good reason for it to be added, just not sure what that would be.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6005_13_gamerstorm_gabriel_low_profile_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

As we zoom in near the heat pipes, we see that they have the fins pressed over them after each pipe has been nickel plated. While soldering is typically best, these fins are very tight in their fit to the pipes.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6005_14_gamerstorm_gabriel_low_profile_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Flipping the Gabriel over, the sections of the fins are much easier to discern now. The lower section of fins is cut to allow the tops of the pipes to rest against the fins, but they are also soldered to the copper base plate that has also been plated.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6005_15_gamerstorm_gabriel_low_profile_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Against a razor, the base is very flat from edge to edge, and from corner to corner. There is a bit left from the milling process, and even after coating the copper, marks are easily visible in the surface.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases