TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,156 Reviews & Articles | 39,562 News Posts

Samsung 840 EVO 1TB mSATA SSD Review - Samsung 840 EVO 1TB mSATA SSD

Samsung 840 EVO 1TB mSATA SSD Review
Samsung released a new mSATA SSD product based on the award winning, mainstream EVO architecture. Today we check out the massive 1TB drive model. (KRX:005930)
| mSATA in Storage | Posted: Jan 1, 2014 1:42 pm
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: Samsung

Samsung 840 EVO 1TB mSATA SSD

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5979_01_samsung_840_evo_1tb_msata_ssd_review.jpg

 

We're just going to roll right through the product packaging images.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5979_02_samsung_840_evo_1tb_msata_ssd_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5979_03_samsung_840_evo_1tb_msata_ssd_review.jpg

 

The drive placement is in the middle of the packaging, so your 840 EVO mSATA is well protected during shipping.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5979_04_samsung_840_evo_1tb_msata_ssd_review.jpg

 

Inside of the package, we found a warranty statement summary that doubles as a user manual, two Samsung SSD Activated stickers, and the drive itself.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5979_05_samsung_840_evo_1tb_msata_ssd_review.jpg

 

And here she is! Samsung stuffed 1024 MB of flash, and 1GB of DRAM, on a card that's smaller than the average Zippo lighter.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5979_06_samsung_840_evo_1tb_msata_ssd_review.jpg

 

The backside has two NAND flash packages, and a handful of surface mount components.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5979_07_samsung_840_evo_1tb_msata_ssd_review.jpg

 

On the main side of the drive, Samsung has a MEX controller, a single 1GB DRAM package, and two additional NAND flash packages. As we mentioned in the introduction, in order for Samsung to achieve this density, the 840 EVO mSATA 1TB model achieves 16 NAND die per package. To my knowledge, this is the first time we've seen 16 die per package on a consumer SSD.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases