TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,143 Reviews & Articles | 39,489 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

be quiet! Power Zone 850-Watt 80 PLUS Bronze Power Supply Review - Inside the Box

be quiet! Power Zone 850-Watt 80 PLUS Bronze Power Supply Review
We take a look at our first mid-range PSU from be quiet! You'll certainly want to read this if you're considering the Power Zone 850.
| 80 PLUS Bronze PSUs in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Dec 28, 2013 2:00 am
TweakTown Rating: 87%Manufacturer: be quiet!

Inside the Box

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5970_10_be_quiet_power_zone_850_watt_80_plus_bronze_power_supply_review.jpg

 

You can't really ask for better protection than this. The Power Zone 850W is cushioned on all sides.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5970_11_be_quiet_power_zone_850_watt_80_plus_bronze_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Looking at the top, we find the I/O specification label and can see the matte black finish on the unit. The power supply also features their rubber isolators on each end which reduce vibrations and noise associated with the unit being mounted in the case metal to metal.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5970_12_be_quiet_power_zone_850_watt_80_plus_bronze_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Both sides feature the same design featuring the Power Zone logo. The opposite side is inverted.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5970_13_be_quiet_power_zone_850_watt_80_plus_bronze_power_supply_review.jpg

 

We find the AC input and on/off rocker switch on the back of the power supply. We also find that rubber isolator on the back isn't just around the edges, but also goes across the back of the unit. This blocks roughly 50% of the airflow out of the back.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5970_14_be_quiet_power_zone_850_watt_80_plus_bronze_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Turning around to the front of the unit, we find that all of the connectors are clearly labeled and easily accessible.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5970_15_be_quiet_power_zone_850_watt_80_plus_bronze_power_supply_review.jpg

 

be quiet! uses their standard fan grill on the bottom and it is always nice to see as it is a little difference and feels like it belongs with the Silent Wings fan.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5970_16_be_quiet_power_zone_850_watt_80_plus_bronze_power_supply_review.jpg

 

All of the modular cables are fully sleeved. There are four bundles of cables inside the box and each bundle is wrapped with reusable Velcro straps that you can utilize for cable management inside your case.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5970_17_be_quiet_power_zone_850_watt_80_plus_bronze_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Rounding out the contents of the box are long mounting screws, zip ties, the AC input cord and user manual.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases