TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,933 Reviews & Articles | 38,224 News Posts

Kingston DataTraveler Vault Privacy Anti-Virus Flash Drive Review

Kingston DataTraveler Vault Privacy Anti-Virus Flash Drive Review

Looking for a secure storage solution with proactive virus and malware scanning? Read on as we take a look at the Vault Privacy AV USB 3.0 pen drive.

| USB Drives in Storage | Posted: Dec 27, 2013 2:01 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%      Manufacturer: Kingston

TweakTown image content/5/9/5968_99_kingston_datatraveler_vault_privacy_anti_virus_flash_drive_review.png

 

Looking back just over a year ago today, Kingston announced the partnership with ESET and ClevX. Thanks to this partnership, Kingston has released the all new DataTraveler Vault Privacy Anti-Virus 3.0.

 

While the DTVP-A doesn't carry any level of FIPS 140-2 certification, it does offer 256-bit AES encryption (XTS mode), with the additional security of the ClevX platform and NOD32 from ESET. Additionally, this drive carries the latest USB 3.0 specification, ensuring increased transfer speeds. Compatibility of the DTVP-A extends to modern Windows operating systems, along with OS X 10.6+ and Linux 2.6+, while warranty is listed at five years.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5968_02_kingston_datatraveler_vault_privacy_anti_virus_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

The DTVP features the same rugged exterior with a touch of color. The Kingston branding still remains, though we also have ESET as well. Capacity is listed to the right.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5968_03_kingston_datatraveler_vault_privacy_anti_virus_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

The back of the drive houses the model identification and assembly information.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5968_04_kingston_datatraveler_vault_privacy_anti_virus_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

The Kingston DTVP utilizes a capped design, which allows for the drive to be waterproof up to four feet. Additionally, this model features USB 3.0 connectivity.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5968_10_kingston_datatraveler_vault_privacy_anti_virus_flash_drive_review.png

 

Setting up the DTVP, we first select our preferred language.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5968_11_kingston_datatraveler_vault_privacy_anti_virus_flash_drive_review.png

 

Step three allows us to set the password for the drive, after which the drive is formatted and ready for use.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5968_14_kingston_datatraveler_vault_privacy_anti_virus_flash_drive_review.png

 

After plugging in the drive, the security software launches and leaves us to input our password. After 10 unsuccessful attempts, the drive locks down and forces a format.

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5968_09_kingston_datatraveler_vault_privacy_anti_virus_flash_drive_review.png

 

The DriveSecurity software proactively scans the drive as files are added, ensuring no malicious software is passed onto the device.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5968_15_kingston_datatraveler_vault_privacy_anti_virus_flash_drive_review.png

 

The Kingston DTVP is factory formatted with the FAT32 file system, insuring compatibility between Windows and Macintosh computers. The usable capacity after formatting is 28.7GB.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5968_16_kingston_datatraveler_vault_privacy_anti_virus_flash_drive_review.png

 

For a quick performance check, we ran through CDM with the DTVP. Here we have 282 MB/s for sequential read and 104 MB/s for write.

 

The Kingston DTVP Antivirus is a great option for anyone wanting the protection of proactive virus and malware scanning on their external storage. The build quality of the unit follows the same standard we found with the DT4000 and 6000 with a capped design and waterproof capabilities.

 

Performance of the unit was rather exceptional at 232 MB/s read and 104 MB/s write in sequential testing.

 

Pricing for the 32GB Kingston DTVP is set at $149.99 and can be found at many e-tailers and accordingly Kingston's online store.

 

TweakTown image 5/9/5968_1234_kingston_datatraveler_vault_privacy_anti_virus_flash_drive_review.png

TweakTown image content/5/9/5968_100_kingston_datatraveler_vault_privacy_anti_virus_flash_drive_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases