TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,934 Reviews & Articles | 38,233 News Posts

Kingston DataTraveler 6000 FIPS Level 3 Encrypted Flash Drive Review

Kingston DataTraveler 6000 FIPS Level 3 Encrypted Flash Drive Review

In the market for military grade encrypted storage? Read on as we take a look at the Kingston DT6000 and see exactly what it has to offer.

| USB Drives in Storage | Posted: Dec 25, 2013 2:00 pm
TweakTown Rating: 90%      Manufacturer: Kingston

TweakTown image content/5/9/5965_99_kingston_datatraveler_6000_fips_level_3_encrypted_flash_drive_review.png

 

For those of you that had the chance to read our review on the Kingston DT4000, today we take things one step further increasing FIPS 140-2 to Level 3 maintaining hardware based 256-bit encryption in the same compact USB flash drive form factor.

 

The Kingston DT6000 may seem like a standard flash drive on the outside. Looking internally though, the flash drive combines years of intense research and development from Spyrus in security technology. Featuring Level 3 military grade FIPS 140-2 compliance, the DT6000 ensures your sensitive data will never be compromised. Compatibility extends to all modern Windows operating systems, along with Mac OS X 10.6+ Warranty is listed at five years.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5965_02_kingston_datatraveler_6000_fips_level_3_encrypted_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

The DT6000 features the same rugged exterior design we found with the DT4000. Branding and capacity are listed on the front of the drive.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5965_03_kingston_datatraveler_6000_fips_level_3_encrypted_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

The back of the drive houses the model identification and assembly information, along with the Spyrus logo.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5965_04_kingston_datatraveler_6000_fips_level_3_encrypted_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

The Kingston DT6000 utilizes a capped design, which allows for the drive to be waterproof up to four feet.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5965_10_kingston_datatraveler_6000_fips_level_3_encrypted_flash_drive_review.png

 

Setting up the DT6000, we first select our preferred language.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5965_11_kingston_datatraveler_6000_fips_level_3_encrypted_flash_drive_review.png

 

Like the DT4000, the Kingston DT6000 allows 10 attempts at entering the correct password, before the drive is erased.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5965_12_kingston_datatraveler_6000_fips_level_3_encrypted_flash_drive_review.png

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

Going back into the settings. Here you can change your password, along with the password hint.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5965_13_kingston_datatraveler_6000_fips_level_3_encrypted_flash_drive_review.png

 

The Kingston DT4000 is factory formatted with the FAT32 file system, insuring compatibility between Windows and Macintosh computers. The usable capacity after formatting is 29.6GB.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5965_14_kingston_datatraveler_6000_fips_level_3_encrypted_flash_drive_review.png

 

For a quick performance check, we ran through CDM with the DT6000. Here we have 22 MB/s for sequential read and 12 MB/s for write.

 

The Kingston DT6000 furthers the amount of security features we found in the DT4000 by quite a bit. Here we have the same 256-bit hardware encryption we found in the DT4000, but by partnering with Spyrus, the DT6000 sector-based USB encryption device implements Suite B high-strength cryptographic algorithms and advanced key management.

 

In addition to this, the DT6000 does not store the PIN internally. Instead, the PIN is entered over a secure channel and is mathematically combined with other information using Suite B algorithms to generate a Master Encryption Key.

 

Performance of the DT6000 met up with our expectations, being a secured flash drive never did the term performance cross our minds, and we knew this going in. However, the drive was able to accomplish 22 MB/s read and 12 MB/s write, which is rather decent performance for a USB 2.0 secured solution.

 

Pricing for the 32GB Kingston DT6000 is set at $229.99 and can be found at many e-tailers and accordingly Kingston's online store.

 

TweakTown image 5/9/5965_1234_kingston_datatraveler_6000_fips_level_3_encrypted_flash_drive_review.png

TweakTown image content/5/9/5965_100_kingston_datatraveler_6000_fips_level_3_encrypted_flash_drive_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases