TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,011 Reviews & Articles | 38,771 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Windows 9 logo teased, with Microsoft's next OS 'coming soon'

Kingston DataTraveler 6000 FIPS Level 3 Encrypted Flash Drive Review

Kingston DataTraveler 6000 FIPS Level 3 Encrypted Flash Drive Review
In the market for military grade encrypted storage? Read on as we take a look at the Kingston DT6000 and see exactly what it has to offer.
| USB Drives in Storage | Posted: Dec 25, 2013 2:00 pm
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: Kingston

TweakTown image content/5/9/5965_99_kingston_datatraveler_6000_fips_level_3_encrypted_flash_drive_review.png

 

For those of you that had the chance to read our review on the Kingston DT4000, today we take things one step further increasing FIPS 140-2 to Level 3 maintaining hardware based 256-bit encryption in the same compact USB flash drive form factor.

 

The Kingston DT6000 may seem like a standard flash drive on the outside. Looking internally though, the flash drive combines years of intense research and development from Spyrus in security technology. Featuring Level 3 military grade FIPS 140-2 compliance, the DT6000 ensures your sensitive data will never be compromised. Compatibility extends to all modern Windows operating systems, along with Mac OS X 10.6+ Warranty is listed at five years.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5965_02_kingston_datatraveler_6000_fips_level_3_encrypted_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

The DT6000 features the same rugged exterior design we found with the DT4000. Branding and capacity are listed on the front of the drive.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5965_03_kingston_datatraveler_6000_fips_level_3_encrypted_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

The back of the drive houses the model identification and assembly information, along with the Spyrus logo.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5965_04_kingston_datatraveler_6000_fips_level_3_encrypted_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

The Kingston DT6000 utilizes a capped design, which allows for the drive to be waterproof up to four feet.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5965_10_kingston_datatraveler_6000_fips_level_3_encrypted_flash_drive_review.png

 

Setting up the DT6000, we first select our preferred language.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5965_11_kingston_datatraveler_6000_fips_level_3_encrypted_flash_drive_review.png

 

Like the DT4000, the Kingston DT6000 allows 10 attempts at entering the correct password, before the drive is erased.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5965_12_kingston_datatraveler_6000_fips_level_3_encrypted_flash_drive_review.png

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

Going back into the settings. Here you can change your password, along with the password hint.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5965_13_kingston_datatraveler_6000_fips_level_3_encrypted_flash_drive_review.png

 

The Kingston DT4000 is factory formatted with the FAT32 file system, insuring compatibility between Windows and Macintosh computers. The usable capacity after formatting is 29.6GB.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5965_14_kingston_datatraveler_6000_fips_level_3_encrypted_flash_drive_review.png

 

For a quick performance check, we ran through CDM with the DT6000. Here we have 22 MB/s for sequential read and 12 MB/s for write.

 

The Kingston DT6000 furthers the amount of security features we found in the DT4000 by quite a bit. Here we have the same 256-bit hardware encryption we found in the DT4000, but by partnering with Spyrus, the DT6000 sector-based USB encryption device implements Suite B high-strength cryptographic algorithms and advanced key management.

 

In addition to this, the DT6000 does not store the PIN internally. Instead, the PIN is entered over a secure channel and is mathematically combined with other information using Suite B algorithms to generate a Master Encryption Key.

 

Performance of the DT6000 met up with our expectations, being a secured flash drive never did the term performance cross our minds, and we knew this going in. However, the drive was able to accomplish 22 MB/s read and 12 MB/s write, which is rather decent performance for a USB 2.0 secured solution.

 

Pricing for the 32GB Kingston DT6000 is set at $229.99 and can be found at many e-tailers and accordingly Kingston's online store.

 

TweakTown image 5/9/5965_1234_kingston_datatraveler_6000_fips_level_3_encrypted_flash_drive_review.png

TweakTown image content/5/9/5965_100_kingston_datatraveler_6000_fips_level_3_encrypted_flash_drive_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases