TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,912 Reviews & Articles | 38,081 News Posts

MAX Keyboard Blackbird Tenkeyless Mechanical Backlit Keyboard Review - Inside the MAX Keyboard Blackbird TKL

MAX Keyboard Blackbird Tenkeyless Mechanical Backlit Keyboard Review

A slick and well lit submission is sent from MAX Keyboards as we look at the Blackbird Tenkeyless mechanical keyboard. Let's take a close look.

| Keyboards in Peripherals | Posted: Dec 11, 2013 3:00 pm
TweakTown Rating: 92%      Manufacturer: MAX Keyboard

Inside the MAX Keyboard Blackbird TKL

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5933_22_max_keyboard_blackbird_tenkeyless_mechanical_backlit_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Once the Blackbird is torn apart, the bright red PCB was something unexpected. Not only pleasing to look at, all of the LED and switch solder points are done cleanly, and all flux and residue is cleaned from the PCB.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5933_23_max_keyboard_blackbird_tenkeyless_mechanical_backlit_keyboard_review.jpg

 

The USB 2.0, two port hub, is controlled by the Genesys Logic GL850G. The high speed controller offers high speed traffic, and runs on a RISK-like 8-bit microprocessor on die with a performance rating of 6 MIPS at 12MHz.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5933_24_max_keyboard_blackbird_tenkeyless_mechanical_backlit_keyboard_review.jpg

 

This is the ELAN EM78F644N microprocessor and flash memory. This is the IC that drives the abilities and features that the keyboard offers and is also where the custom lighting profile is saved when set.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5933_25_max_keyboard_blackbird_tenkeyless_mechanical_backlit_keyboard_review.jpg

 

This Cypress Cy7C63413C-PVXC is yet another USB 2.0 controller, but this time, for the keyboard switches, where that Genesys IC was specifically for the hub. This IC is also 8-bit and also runs at 12 MHz.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5933_26_max_keyboard_blackbird_tenkeyless_mechanical_backlit_keyboard_review.jpg

 

The Texas Instruments TLC59282 IC is the 16-channel constant current LED driver. This is capable of running 45 mA per channel, and offers a max voltage of 17V for this drive IC to push.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5933_27_max_keyboard_blackbird_tenkeyless_mechanical_backlit_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Reassembly of the Blackbird is fairly simple and once together we powered it on and set the LEDs to their brightest setting. Across most of the keys the lighting my look white, but a glance to the right or left side shows the blue more clearly.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5933_28_max_keyboard_blackbird_tenkeyless_mechanical_backlit_keyboard_review.jpg

 

We then went ahead and turned on the side panel lighting. As you can see the entire panel glows with the blue lighting that is derived from a single LED at the back edge of these side panels.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases