TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,142 Reviews & Articles | 39,480 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Seagate Desktop 2TB SSHD (ST2000DX001) Review - Benchmarks - PCMark 8 Hard Disk Tests

Seagate Desktop 2TB SSHD (ST2000DX001) Review
The Desktop SSHD from Seagate effectively outperforms every mechanical drive on the market, all while maintaining a competitive price point. (NASDAQ:STX)
| HDDs in Storage | Posted: Sep 14, 2013 7:15 am
TweakTown Rating: 94%Manufacturer: Seagate

PCMark 8 - Hard Disk Tests

 

Version and / or Patch Used: 1.0.0

Developer Homepage: http://www.futuremark.com

Product Homepage: http://www.futuremark.com/benchmarks/pcmark8

 

 

PCMark 8 is the latest version in our popular series of PC benchmarking tools. Improving on previous releases, PCMark 8 includes battery life measurement tools and new tests using popular applications from Adobe and Microsoft. Whether you are looking for long battery life, or maximum power, PCMark 8 helps you find the devices that offer the perfect combination of efficiency and performance for your needs.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5748_63_seagate_desktop_2tb_sshd_st2000dx001_review.png

 

It's quite apparent where the true power of the SSHD lies. In our WoW testing, we saw impressive results, with the SSHD finishing the trace at 59.4 seconds.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5748_64_seagate_desktop_2tb_sshd_st2000dx001_review.png

 

The Battlefield trace again showed the prowess of the Desktop SSHD with a score of 134.5 seconds.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5748_65_seagate_desktop_2tb_sshd_st2000dx001_review.png

 

This is where we see the trend continue. Photoshop under the light use trace had the SSHD at 116.9 seconds.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5748_66_seagate_desktop_2tb_sshd_st2000dx001_review.png

 

The heavy use trace put the SSHD in at 368.6 seconds.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5748_67_seagate_desktop_2tb_sshd_st2000dx001_review.png

 

The Desktop SSHD excelled even further in all the Microsoft application traces as you will soon see. However, we start with the Excel trace, where the drive came in at 9.3 seconds.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5748_68_seagate_desktop_2tb_sshd_st2000dx001_review.png

 

The PowerPoint trace came in at the same time as our previous Excel trace, 9.3 seconds.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5748_69_seagate_desktop_2tb_sshd_st2000dx001_review.png

 

The Microsoft Word workload allowed a 28.7 second time on the Desktop SSHD.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases