TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,249 Reviews & Articles | 40,763 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Rockstar rumored to announce Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas 2 soon

Western Digital Slim (WD10SPCX) 1TB HDD Review - Western Digital Slim (WD10SPCX) 1TB HDD

Western Digital Slim (WD10SPCX) 1TB HDD Review
WD strikes back with the Slim, becoming the first to offer a full terabyte of storage in the Slim 7mm Z-Height. (NASDAQ:WDC)
| HDDs in Storage | Posted: Jul 30, 2013 2:01 pm
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: Western Digital

Western Digital Slim (WD10SPCX) 1TB HDD

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5633_03_western_digital_slim_wd10spcx_1tb_hdd_review.jpg

 

Our review sample of the WD Slim was delivered in bare drive form. The top side of the drive reminding me of a solid state drive rather than a spinner.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5633_04_western_digital_slim_wd10spcx_1tb_hdd_review.jpg

 

The bottom of the drive houses the capacity, listed at 1TB along with the date of manufacture, which for our sample was May 21st 2013.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5633_05_western_digital_slim_wd10spcx_1tb_hdd_review.jpg

 

The SATA power and data connections are placed in position for wide compatibility.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5633_06_western_digital_slim_wd10spcx_1tb_hdd_review.jpg

 

The WD Slim uses just a sliver of a PCB when compared to previous drives. Above you can see the very small tabs that connect the PCB to the motor, along with the clip for the head.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5633_07_western_digital_slim_wd10spcx_1tb_hdd_review.jpg

 

Here we have the front facing portion of the PCB, the motor controller made by WD and Winbond supplying the 16MB cache.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5633_08_western_digital_slim_wd10spcx_1tb_hdd_review.jpg

 

The backside of the PCB houses the Marvell 88i9446 controller.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5633_09_western_digital_slim_wd10spcx_1tb_hdd_review.jpg

 

Weighing the WD Slim, the drive came in at 3.15 ounces.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5633_10_western_digital_slim_wd10spcx_1tb_hdd_review.jpg

 

Here we have the WD Slim at its thickest point measuring in at 7.09mm.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases