TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,207 Reviews & Articles | 40,156 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: GTA V will have 'just for PC' features, including a video editor

Western Digital WD Se Enterprise HDD Review - 4K Random Read/Write

Western Digital WD Se Enterprise HDD Review
The WD Se rounds out WD's expansive range of storage solutions for the datacenter. The WD Se is designed to aDDRess the need for high capacity scale out storage in replicated and NAS environments, providing a more economical method of storing large amounts of data. (NASDAQ:WDC)
| HDDs in IT/Datacenter | Posted: Jul 11, 2013 5:03 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: WD

4K Random Read/Write

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5589_13_western_digital_wd_se_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

Each QD for every parameter tested includes 300 data points (five minutes of one second reports) to illustrate the degree of performance variability. The line for each QD represents the average speed reported during the five-minute interval.

 

4K random speed measurements are an important metric when comparing drive performance, as the hardest type of file access for any storage solution to master is small-file random. One of the most sought-after performance specifications, 4K random performance is a heavily marketed figure.

 

The Western Digital Se averages 156 IOPS at QD256, but is beat slightly by the Toshiba MG03SCA300.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5589_14_western_digital_wd_se_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

The Toshiba drive has higher performance spikes with 4K random writing, but we observe that the significant variability leads to a lower average. The WD Se averages 198 IOPS at QD256.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5589_15_western_digital_wd_se_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

Our write percentage testing illustrates the varying performance of each solution with mixed workloads. The 100% column to the right is a pure write workload of the 4K file size, and 0% represents a pure 4K read workload.

 

The WD Se follows a predictable curve as we mix in write activity, but manages to keep a tighter performance profile than the Toshiba HDD.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5589_16_western_digital_wd_se_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

The WD Se provides 57,124 I/O's (96.41%) at 100-200ms, and the remaining 2,108 I/O's (3.55%) in the 200-400ms range. The Toshiba MG03SCA300's recorded latency range spans from 80-600ms.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5589_17_western_digital_wd_se_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

We record the power consumption measurements during our test run at QD256. The WD Se consumes an average of 8.65 Watts.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5589_18_western_digital_wd_se_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5589_19_western_digital_wd_se_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

IOPS to Watts measurements are generated from data recorded during our test. The WD Se delivers an average of 28 IOPS per watt for 4K random writes, and 22 IOPS per Watt for 4K random read.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases