TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,099 Reviews & Articles | 39,136 News Posts

MyDigitalSSD BP4 960GB SSD Review - MyDigitalSSD BP4 960GB SSD

MyDigitalSSD BP4 960GB SSD Review
In our search to find a Crucial M500 960GB for sale, we stumbled across a new high-capacity SSD. The MyDigitalSSD BP4 is a solid product, we've already tested the other capacity sizes, but today we see if the large capacity model does as well as the smaller versions.
| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Jul 3, 2013 5:12 pm
TweakTown Rating: 89%Manufacturer: MyDigitalSSD

MyDigitalSSD BP4 960GB SSD

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5583_06_mydigitalssd_bp4_960gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Our sample drive arrived in a typical white box.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5583_07_mydigitalssd_bp4_960gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The drive comes packed with adequate protection for shipping.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5583_01_mydigitalssd_bp4_960gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Aside from the capacity size change, the BP4 we're looking at today looks identical to the previous review products of smaller capacity.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5583_08_mydigitalssd_bp4_960gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

I'm trying really hard to hold back the excitement of another Tera Era SSD. Everyone has milestones in their life and for me 1TB SSDs are significant enough to register on my timeline.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5583_09_mydigitalssd_bp4_960gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Not only did MDSSD stuff 1TB of flash in the case, they used a 7mm case. We've seen large capacity sizes of 1TB and greater on the enterprise side, but they've all been 9.5mm or even 15mm.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5583_10_mydigitalssd_bp4_960gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The 7mm form factor still uses standard SATA power and data connectors, so this drive can fit into a very large number of systems.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5583_11_mydigitalssd_bp4_960gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The largest capacity size BP4 uses a new PCB, one that we didn't find inside the smaller capacity size models. MDSSD needed to use a difference PCB to accommodate the Texas Instruments decoders/demultiplexers. There are eight total, four on each side, right in the middle of the PCB.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5583_12_mydigitalssd_bp4_960gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

There are 16 Toshiba NAND flash BGA chips total on this drive.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5583_13_mydigitalssd_bp4_960gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Phison supplied the controller for the BP4 product line. Paired with the flash and controller is a single PSC DRAM chip for caching table data. This is the same DRAM chip we found on the 240GB MB4, so MDSSD didn't increase the DRAM size and that might adversely affect the benchmarks results.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5583_14_mydigitalssd_bp4_960gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

We asked Toshiba for the datasheet or at least a new decoder sheet for the new Type C flash. We're yet to hear back. We think there are four die inside each package, but don't quote me on that.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases