TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,686 Reviews & Articles | 36,198 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

Western Digital My Passport Ultra 500GB Portable HDD Review

Western Digital My Passport Ultra 500GB Portable HDD Review

WD has enriched the My Passport line-up with tons of new software features, and it all starts with the Ultra. (NASDAQ:WDC)

| Enclosures/Externals in Storage | Posted: Jul 3, 2013 5:18 am
TweakTown Rating: 95%      Manufacturer: Western Digital

TweakTown image content/5/5/5563_99_western_digital_my_passport_ultra_500gb_portable_hdd_review.png

 

The WD My Passport Ultra was announced just a few short months ago, with capacities ranging from 500GB to 1TB all of which are USB 3.0 capable. To enhance the Ultra's capabilities over competing products, WD has added a few software features to the portable solution.

 

Included with the My Passport Ultra you will find WD SmartWare, which we first had the chance to play with when we reviewed the EDGE for Mac just last month. WD has taken it a step further with the Ultra, offering WD Security software that encrypts the drive and WD Drive Utilities that's allows you to set a sleep timer, perform diagnostic and even erase the drive. The My Passport Ultra is offered in four colors (Titanium, Red, Blue and Black) and comes with a three year warranty.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5563_02_western_digital_my_passport_ultra_500gb_portable_hdd_review.jpg

 

The Ultra was delivered to us in it retail packaging. The storage capacity is listed in the bottom right corner, and to the left the window allows a peak of the drive.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5563_03_western_digital_my_passport_ultra_500gb_portable_hdd_review.jpg

 

The scope of delivery has the Ultra packaged with the USB 3.0 cable and a very nice carrying bag.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5563_04_western_digital_my_passport_ultra_500gb_portable_hdd_review.jpg

 

The receptacle used on the Ultra is the USB 3.0 micro-B type.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5563_05_western_digital_my_passport_ultra_500gb_portable_hdd_review.jpg

 

As this is a portable drive, we placed the Ultra on our digital scale. Here we have the My Passport weighing in at 135.5 grams or 4.7 ounces.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5563_06_western_digital_my_passport_ultra_500gb_portable_hdd_review.jpg

 

Pulling apart the Ultra, we found it to use the same drive as the Passport EDGE for Mac.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5563_07_western_digital_my_passport_ultra_500gb_portable_hdd_review.jpg

 

The back of the drive houses the custom PCB that includes the USB 3.0 controller and connector on-board.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5563_12_western_digital_my_passport_ultra_500gb_portable_hdd_review.png

 

Above we have loaded WD SmartWare on our PC, and have begun the process of backing up to the Ultra. There is also the option of backing up to Dropbox.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5563_14_western_digital_my_passport_ultra_500gb_portable_hdd_review.png

 

When setting up your backup, WD allows you to configure the files and folders manually or to have them bunched into categories. Here we have chosen category backup, and SmartWare has broken down the amount of data to be backed up.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5563_15_western_digital_my_passport_ultra_500gb_portable_hdd_review.png

 

Here we have opened up WD Drive Utilities, and as you can see we have the option of performing several drive tests along with setting the sleep timer and erasing the drive.

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5563_16_western_digital_my_passport_ultra_500gb_portable_hdd_review.png

 

Above is the setup for WD Security, the encryption software for all new My Passport solutions.

 

To test external storage platforms I utilize three of the most well-known and respected benchmark applications. ATTO Disk Benchmark is the first and is recognized as the industry standard for marketing specifications. The second, CDM or Crystal Disk Mark offers sequential read and write metrics, 512K random read and writes and 4K data with Queue Depths up to 32. Through DiskBench we offer real-world testing as it offers a custom data set that can be controlled by the user. For our testing I use a 10GB directory of mixed data that includes, pictures in both the RAW and JPEG file formats, AVCHD video and documents in both the XLS and DOC formats.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5563_20_western_digital_my_passport_ultra_500gb_portable_hdd_review.png

 

Gathering marketing numbers through ATTO, we ended up topping out the Ultra at 120MB/s read and 120MB/s write.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5563_21_western_digital_my_passport_ultra_500gb_portable_hdd_review.png

 

Looking over our numbers achieved within CDM, I found the My Passport matching sequential numbers with ATTO. More impressive, the 512K random writes were touching 65MB/s.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5563_22_western_digital_my_passport_ultra_500gb_portable_hdd_review.png

 

In our real-world testing with DiskBench, we found the WD My Passport Ultra to be most impressive at 115MB/s, becoming the fastest drive in our charts, despite plenty of competition from our set of ADATA drives.

 

The My Passport Ultra is a unique drive, which sets itself apart in the saturated market of portable storage solutions by offering one of the most comprehensive sets of software I have seen.

 

The included WD SmartWare software offers one of the easiest solutions when it comes to data backup and restoration, which I find to be something that really enriches the environment that the end-user experiences. New additions of Drive Utilities make managing your drive even easier and WD Security allows for a simple solution to keeping your data secure and private.

 

Performance of the Ultra was rather impressive, enough so to top our DiskBench chart at 115MB/s. ATTO showed the drive reaching a peak of 120MB/s in both read and write, while CDM presented us with random read of 45MB/s and writes at 65MB/s.

 

Pricing of the Western Digital My Passport Ultra in its 500GB capacity is set at a very comforting $99.99 with availability extremely high.

 

TweakTown image 5/5/5563_1234_western_digital_my_passport_ultra_500gb_portable_hdd_review.png

TweakTown image content/5/5/5563_100_western_digital_my_passport_ultra_500gb_portable_hdd_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below