TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,058 Reviews & Articles | 38,954 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Strap an iPad to your face with AirVR for mobile VR

Stinky Gaming Footboard Foot Controller Review - Around and Inside the Stinky Footboard

Stinky Gaming Footboard Foot Controller Review
In the mood for an unusual peripheral device? Then we suggest you have a look at the new Stinky Gaming Footboard.
| Game Controllers in Peripherals | Posted: Jun 24, 2013 2:15 pm
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: Stinky

Around and Inside the Stinky Footboard

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5542_14_stinky_gaming_footboard_foot_controller_review.jpg

 

To make any minor adjustments to the springs, you simply install the wrench and go right to stiffen up the feel or left to loosen them. If you loosen them too much, the screw and washer will eventually come off.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5542_15_stinky_gaming_footboard_foot_controller_review.jpg

 

This is what I mean by that. If you continue to go left too far, the screw comes out and allows the spring to fully extend. This does require force to reseat the screw, so be sure you want to change the springs if you are going to loosen the screws too far. What is too far? Level with the plastic on the Footboard is far enough.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5542_16_stinky_gaming_footboard_foot_controller_review.jpg

 

Removing all of the springs you can see that the stock setup uses medium springs for the front and back switch tension, and it uses the lighter strength blue springs to use the right and left switches. I found you pretty much always want softer springs on the sides; it is easier on your ankles that way.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5542_17_stinky_gaming_footboard_foot_controller_review.jpg

 

I had to void my warranty to go any further, and for normal users, there is no need to go this far. To show the inside components, removing this large screws from the pivoting center hub is the only way inside.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5542_18_stinky_gaming_footboard_foot_controller_review.jpg

 

Inside of the top of the Footboard you can see the red plastic inserts that give the Footboard lights their color. You can also see the nuts from the bolts that hold on the aluminum top plate and the thick brass stud the attaches the top to the base.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5542_19_stinky_gaming_footboard_foot_controller_review.jpg

 

Looking now at the lower half of the Footboard you can see the switches, the steel support frame, the PCB, and loads of well managed wiring so it will stay out of the way during use of this device.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5542_20_stinky_gaming_footboard_foot_controller_review.jpg

 

Each of the four switches used on this are in fact the Cherry MX blue switches we were told were going to be used, and I commend Stinky for not going with some lame rubber dome or other pad style switch that would easily break under the stresses you can give with a foot.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5542_21_stinky_gaming_footboard_foot_controller_review.jpg

 

Since one of the switches is on the back of the PCB, there are only three extensions clipped into it. You can also see that this isn't' just slapped together either. The soldering is clean and there is no excess flux left on them.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5542_22_stinky_gaming_footboard_foot_controller_review.jpg

 

This 8-bit AMTEL microcontroller is what is keeping track of your actions and sending them off to the PC, it is clocked at 16MHz and has enough memory for the firmware and that is about it, profiles are saved on the computer, not on the Footboard.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases