TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,159 Reviews & Articles | 39,584 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Star Citizen creator: "I don't care about consoles"

Corsair Obsidian 350D Micro-ATX Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

Corsair Obsidian 350D Micro-ATX Chassis Review
The Obsidian series gets its smallest addition with the latest Micro-ATX chassis, the 350D.
| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: May 8, 2013 2:01 pm
TweakTown Rating: 85%Manufacturer: Corsair

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5432_28_corsair_obsidian_350d_micro_atx_chassis_review.jpg

 

When I got to the point of needing to remove a bay cover for the ODD, I looked to see how it all goes about. I found four tabs inside the chassis that after releasing the lower section, will allow the top of the bezel to come out. This allows you to remove the bay covers, and you can see that the wires stay with the chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5432_29_corsair_obsidian_350d_micro_atx_chassis_review.jpg

 

To remove a bay cover, Corsair uses a tab on both sides to lock them into place. All you have to do is press the tabs inward and the cover will slide out the front of this section of the bezel.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5432_30_corsair_obsidian_350d_micro_atx_chassis_review.jpg

 

Once the cover is removed, the entire width of the section is inset as it exposed textured plastic to flank the DVD drive. Personally, I would do away with an ODD in this chassis because this really disturbs the sleekness that it had out of the box.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5432_31_corsair_obsidian_350d_micro_atx_chassis_review.jpg

 

What seemed really roomy at first was found to be quite tight. I had to angle the motherboard to avoid the ODD rack to get it installed, and when the build is complete, there isn't a whole lot of room to add much more.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5432_32_corsair_obsidian_350d_micro_atx_chassis_review.jpg

 

There weren't too many issues out back. The dust shield snapped right in, the card lined up well, but for the PSU, I was short one screw, so I used it in the motherboard instead of filling all four holes of the PSU.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5432_33_corsair_obsidian_350d_micro_atx_chassis_review.jpg

 

I was able to stuff every wire behind the motherboard tray. I took advantage of the well placed tie points, and all of the grommets were close enough to not leave a lot of the wiring on the inside of the chassis. There was slight resistance when I put the panel on, but due to the way they "hinge" at the front, it closed with little effort.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5432_34_corsair_obsidian_350d_micro_atx_chassis_review.jpg

 

Just stepping back to soak it all in as I grab for the power cord so we can see what the 350D is all about.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5432_35_corsair_obsidian_350d_micro_atx_chassis_review.jpg

 

When powered, the only lighting that you will deal with is the faint white glow of this pair of LEDs. The power LED, the one on the left, is actually illuminated currently. As for the light on the right, there is just an occasional flicker from it after the boot sequence has finished.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5432_36_corsair_obsidian_350d_micro_atx_chassis_review.jpg

 

Just to give you an idea of what you can see through the window, I took this above image. As you can see, there is a great view of the components even without any help from LED lighting, but you also get a good view of the bays at the front, and that is something I would rather not see, personally.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases