TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,139 Reviews & Articles | 39,458 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Samsung Galaxy Note II Phablet Review - Look and Feel

Samsung Galaxy Note II Phablet Review
Samsung supersizes its Galaxy Note with the Galaxy Note II - can lightning strike twice? (KRX:005930)
| Tablets in Mobile Devices | Posted: May 1, 2013 9:49 am
TweakTown Rating: 79%Manufacturer: Samsung

Look and Feel

 

This review comes off of the back of the Sony Xperia Z, which had an absolutely beautiful look and feel to it. After hearing so much about the Galaxy Note II, I wasn't looking forward to using another plastic-built device from Samsung.

 

The Galaxy Note II has a plastic shell, which feels cheap. Sure, the Note II has its fans, but for one of Samsung's flagship devices, I really demand more quality. In terms of size, we have (measured in inches) 5.95 x 3.17 x 0.37.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5419_18_needs_new_graphs_samsung_galaxy_note_ii_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5419_19_needs_new_graphs_samsung_galaxy_note_ii_review.jpg

 

The front of the Note II has a nice earpiece in the top center, and just under that we have the Samsung logo. At the bottom of the phone, we have the Home button in the center, and to the left and right of that we have some touch buttons.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5419_20_needs_new_graphs_samsung_galaxy_note_ii_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5419_15_needs_new_graphs_samsung_galaxy_note_ii_review.jpg

 

The back of the Note II doesn't feature much, with the loudspeaker on the bottom of the device, and up the top we have the rear-facing camera with LED flash and another Samsung logo.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5419_12_needs_new_graphs_samsung_galaxy_note_ii_review.jpg

 

On the right side of the phone we have the power button.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5419_10_needs_new_graphs_samsung_galaxy_note_ii_review.jpg

 

On the left of the Note II we have the volume rocker.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5419_13_needs_new_graphs_samsung_galaxy_note_ii_review.jpg

 

On the very top of the phone we have the usual 3.5mm headphone/speaker jack.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5419_11_needs_new_graphs_samsung_galaxy_note_ii_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5419_16_needs_new_graphs_samsung_galaxy_note_ii_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5419_17_needs_new_graphs_samsung_galaxy_note_ii_review.jpg

 

On the bottom of the Note II we have the microUSB port for charging and synching your 5.5-inch phablet, and to the right of that we have the S-Pen which can be pulled out and removed, and of course, used for various functions that we'll get into later in the review.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Mobile Devices content at our Mobile Devices reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases