TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,199 Reviews & Articles | 40,011 News Posts

InWin G7 Mid-Tower Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

InWin G7 Mid-Tower Chassis Review
If the GT1 case was a little too out there for you, InWin offers a sleeker version with the G7.
| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Apr 25, 2013 6:12 am
TweakTown Rating: 73%Manufacturer: InWin

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5340_28_inwin_g7_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Removing the bezel to access the bay covers, you can see that this is how you clean the filter on the 120mm intake fan as well. With the wires attached to the bezel, make sure you remember this when maintaining those wires.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5340_29_inwin_g7_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The DVD drive goes in flush with the brushed face of the chassis. While a stealth bay cover would be greatly appreciated here, it doesn't look all that bad with one now in the front of the chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5340_30_inwin_g7_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

With only a partial HDD rack, you can fit really long cards in here, and it does make room for storing a pump or a bobble head doll, but when I tried to install the SSD here, I found the power cable wouldn't go onto the drive. As for the rest, aside from lacking screws for expansion cards, everything went as expected.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5340_31_inwin_g7_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Around the back, the expansion slot cover is easy enough to work, but it is more to cover the hole than for security. As for the rest of it, the dust shield, card, and PSU all went right into place.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5340_32_inwin_g7_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

I was able to do a little better with the wires this time, but you can see it is all way to the left of any of the supplied tie points. There is also a notch in the CPU access hole to allow for an 8-pin, or maybe fan wiring, but the motherboard blocks access through here too.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5340_33_inwin_g7_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Now with the door panels on the chassis, all that is left to do is to power this G7 chassis, test it, and tell you my final thoughts.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5340_34_inwin_g7_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

When the G7 powers up, there is a tiny blue LED denoting system power, the occasional flicker of an amber HDD activity light, and if you want Turbo mode, the fan switch will light up when that mode is active.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases